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Membership Geeks Podcast with Mike Morrison
Membership Geeks Podcast with Mike Morrison
Author: Membership Geeks
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© Copyright 2026 Membership Geeks
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Join Mike Morrison - founder of the Membership Geeks - for advice, tips and insight on planning, running and growing a successful membership website plus interviews with existing membership owners and industry experts.
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In this episode, I take a deep dive into one of the most debated topics in the membership world: why member lifetime value is actually more important than focusing solely on churn rates.I share my insights on reframing how we look at member retention and challenge the idea that churn makes the membership model less viable than courses or other digital products.Whether you’re struggling to boost retention or just questioning your business model, this episode is packed with practical advice and a fresh perspective on what really impacts your bottom line.Get ready for a mindset shift that could transform how you approach your membership strategy!In this episode:Why is member lifetime value a more valuable metric to track than churn rate in a membership business?How should membership owners reframe their thinking when faced with member cancellations and natural churn?What’s the real financial impact of churn compared to other business models like selling courses or client services?In practical terms, what steps can owners take to improve the overall value of each member rather than just fighting churn numbers?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"If a member only stays for X months, then what's the point? Usually that's followed by, I might as well do X. So why would I run a membership? Because if members are only going to end up canceling after 10 months, then I might as well just sell online courses.""We debunk the whole myth that industry average churn rate is 3 months, and we actually debunk the idea of industry average at all. Now, if you had to pin it down and you absolutely had to give a thumb in the air industry average, it's more like 8 or 9 months.""If you get exactly the same amount of sales of a $500 course, the end result financially is still the same. Each sale of that course to you is worth $500 for the lifetime of your relationship with that person who buys the course. In the same way that the lifetime value of every individual person who joins your membership, that's $50 a month, 10% churn rate, is $500.""Churn rate is merely a factor in determining the end point after which you get no more money from that person. So when you use that definition, courses have a churn rate. It's just that churn rate is instantaneous because you get no more money from the sale of that course after the initial sale goes through. So it has a 100% churn rate."
In this episode, I dive into the concept of "off-platform engagement" and why it's becoming essential for membership owners.I discuss how member behaviors have evolved and why relying solely on getting people to log in to your site is no longer the only—or even the best—way to deliver value.I share practical strategies for removing friction and ensuring your membership stays relevant and engaging by meeting members where they already are.You'll walk away with ideas to broaden your engagement approach and make your membership more resilient for the future.In this episode:Why is it no longer realistic to expect members to visit your website every time they want to engage or gain value?How does "off-platform engagement" help reduce friction and improve the member experience?What are actionable ways to deliver value to members outside of your membership platform (such as email and private podcasts)?How can rethinking engagement strategies help your membership thrive in an increasingly distracted and competitive world?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"We're talking about something that I'm calling off-platform engagement. So By this I mean embracing the notion that not everything about getting your members engaged means getting them to come to your website, getting them to log in, getting them to post in your community hub, or engage and consume stuff within your learning portal.""We can start looking at ways that we can push our value, push the benefits, push the value of being a member into the spaces that are in their world, onto their turf, taking our value to their inbox, to their podcasting app, to their daily workflow, to the systems and the environments that they are operating in.""We embed the value in those emails. Yes, we still want to get people back to our website. But if they don't have time, if they are consuming on the go, just by reading the email, on their email app, on their phone, they're still getting some value from being a part of your membership.""Private member-only podcasts are a fantastic way of doing that. So having a podcast that is only available to your paying members,. So they're the only people who can subscribe, they've got private subscription URLs that only work when they are active and paying. This gives you a channel for off-platform engagement that is ripe with potential."
In this episode, I dive into the crucial role member onboarding plays in the overall success and retention rates of your membership business.I share why retention efforts need to begin from the very moment a new member joins and not just when cancellation looms.We’ll explore the three essential pillars every onboarding process must include to supercharge your members’ long-term engagement.If you want your members to stick around and love being part of your community, this episode is for you.In this episode:Why is member onboarding so critical for retention, and when should it actually start?What are the three core components every successful member onboarding process needs?How can you structure your onboarding to support members throughout their first 90 days, not just the first few days or weeks?What practical steps can you take to affirm, acclimate, and advance your members to maximize their satisfaction and results?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"Retention starts day one, minute one. The second someone joins your membership, the clock is ticking and the first impression is absolutely vital.""So first and foremost, if you don't have an onboarding process in your membership, this is your top priority. So many memberships have horrendous churn and the reason is because they do not have member onboarding.""Truly effective member onboarding goes way beyond just those first 30 days. Ideally, you want to have a strategy in place that is mapped around at least the first 90 days that someone is in your membership.""It's about us thinking, okay, where are the knowledge gaps? What does someone need to understand how to do in terms of functionally using this membership in order to get the best from it."
In this episode, I dive into the two fundamental strategies for increasing the revenue of your membership business.I break down why making more sales and boosting the lifetime value of each member are the only real ways to grow your income, and share actionable tips for improving both areas.From smart marketing adjustments to retaining your members for longer, I offer proven, practical advice you can implement right away.If you’re looking to ramp up your membership profits, this episode is packed with insights to help you get there.In this episode:What are the only two ways to make more money from your membership?How can you refine your marketing and sales strategies to attract more new members—and even win back former ones?What practical steps can you take to increase the lifetime value of each member, including improving retention?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"If you're not bringing people into your world, you're not getting traffic, you're not building your followers, you're not building your email list, then there's fewer people to sell to, and by virtue of that, fewer people who join your membership.""If you are bringing people into your world, your list is growing steadily, but they're just not joining. We need to reach out and survey those non buyers, find out why they've not joined, find out the main obstacles, and then tailor your marketing in order to preempt those and to overcome some of the issues that might be keeping people from becoming members.""At Membership Academy, around about 25 to 30% of people who leave ultimately return within a 12 month period. On average. When we've done our survey, that is tending to be around about 15% across the thousands of memberships that we surveyed, about 15% of people in memberships where they conduct win back campaigns, about 15% of those X members come back. That's one heck of a conversion rate.""So once they've been in there for three to six months and they start to get some wins, they've start to feel integrated into the community, they start to feel that sense of belonging, then they might be more receptive to upgrading to annual."
In this episode, I dive into what it really means to try and be a good boss to my membership team.I share my personal experiences, challenges, and the mindset shifts that have shaped my approach to leadership in a growing and virtual business.You'll get a behind-the-scenes look at how I balance flexibility, accountability, and compassion with my team, plus the practices and policies that keep us running smoothly.Whether you already manage a team or are just curious about what goes into building a positive work environment, this one’s for you.In this episode:How do I balance being a leader without falling into the trap of thinking I have all the answers or micromanaging my team?What approach do I take to measuring and rewarding team performance—do I value outputs over hours worked?How can flexibility and compassion be integrated into daily team management while still maintaining high standards and results?In what ways do I foster a transparent, supportive, and growth-oriented environment for my team members?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, head over to the Membership Geeks Website to get tips and inspiration on how to set yourself up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"I focus almost entirely on outputs rather than inputs. I don't want people showing up for their 35 hours, being chained to their desk from nine till five every day, and me using that as the measure of them doing a good job.""I very openly encourage people if they've got questions about anything, even if it's not related to their particular area and the business, to just come, just ask.""You shouldn't be reaming someone out ruining their day, making them fearful for their job because they made an honest mistake. And I think defaulting to the stance that nobody wakes up in the morning thinking, I'm going to screw up today.""Every time I do a staff review, I always end up making the comment of like, this feels like it should be harder. It feels like I should have stuff to tell you off for or stuff to tell you you need to improve, but you're doing incredible work. You're such a great asset to the team."
In this episode, I share some of the coolest and most innovative ideas I've recently encountered in the world of memberships.I dive into real-life examples from other membership sites that have inspired me, highlighting creative ways they’re engaging their members, improving onboarding, and making their communities stand out.Whether you’re looking to refresh your own membership or just want some creative inspiration, these ideas are sure to spark new possibilities.Tune in to hear what’s working—and what you might want to test out for yourself!In this episode:How can leveraging the voices of real members during promotional events boost social proof and trust with potential joiners?What creative onboarding tactics can help new members feel understood, engaged, and set up for success from day one?Why is personalization in the onboarding process essential, and how can tools like interactive video assessments be used effectively?What does a truly hybrid (online/offline) membership look like, and why might this model become increasingly important in today’s landscape?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, head over to the Membership Geeks Website for all the tips you need to set yourself up to run a sustainable membership business.Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"I like to join other memberships to see what they're doing well, see what could be improved, see what cool new trends they've been implementing, new innovations and ideas. And yeah, like, I make that a regular part of what I do.""You are so confident that the things people say when you're not in the room are so powerful and compelling that you are willing to step away from for something that could actually be a significant sales event as part of this promotion.""The way in which Maggies use videoask to create what feels like a personal, real time, almost intimate, actual physical assessment that just blew me away.""Andrew and Pete, I feel, are the first people I've seen like really properly put the flag in the sand with their new membership that this is a hybrid membership. And by hybrid membership I mean online and offline."
In this episode of the Membership Geeks Podcast, I dive into the world of personal branding, exploring why it's crucial for membership owners and online experts to show up intentionally and authentically.Joined by personal brand strategist Bob Gentle, we have an honest conversation about the human side of building your brand—dealing with confidence, comparison, and imposter syndrome—while navigating today's noisy online landscape.We break down the practical steps you can take to start shaping your brand, especially if you've never given it much thought.Whether you're already visible or just getting started, you'll find actionable advice to help your business and membership thrive.In this episode:What does “personal branding” really mean beyond logos and social media presence?How do you overcome fear, imposter syndrome, and comparison when building your personal brand?What practical steps can you take to start taking control and direction of your personal brand?Which platforms and strategies should membership owners focus on to get visible and build authority in a sustainable way?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"It's going to take an awful lot more for me to rally behind a logo than it is for me to rally behind a person.""That's probably the direction you should be going, reframing imposter syndrome, not as an alarm, but as a beacon, because it's only going to be triggered by the things that are genuinely thought leadership.""A lot of people will tell you you should, you should, as an expert business, position your business for somebody that's a bit like you or perhaps a step behind. And I think that's terrible advice.""I would look at the platform that I feel most aligned with, most comfortable, and that has already demonstrated some embers of success for me."
In this episode of the Membership Geeks Podcast, I pull back the curtain on the major changes happening inside Membership Academy this year.After a decade of running our membership, I want to share how we're shifting our focus to better serve a rapidly evolving market and meet the needs of membership owners looking not just to launch, but to grow and thrive.From streamlining our content and embracing new technology to diversifying our offerings and making an important pricing update, I walk you through the thinking and strategies behind every big move.If you're interested in how to keep your membership business ahead of the curve, this episode is packed with actionable insights.In this episode:How is Membership Academy shifting its focus from launching memberships to prioritizing growth and ongoing success?What prompted the decision to remove tech walkthroughs, and how does this change benefit members today?In what ways is Membership Academy diversifying its offerings beyond the core membership program?Why is Membership Academy increasing its price, and what does legacy pricing mean for current and prospective members?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"Most of the members of the Academy tell me that a lot of the things that have helped their business, they picked up from just looking at what we're doing, what has worked for them as a member of our Academy.""But that now means that we can look at what's next because there's always a portion of your audience who need more, want more, and are willing to invest in something that will get them either more access, something that will deliver a higher level of results, something that will get the more support and all of that sort of stuff.""So your membership is highly unlikely to cover absolutely every inch of grass on the field within your market. And so having a real top down understanding of where you fit, what isn't covered, what opportunities there are for you to diversify your offering or to just rule out, you know, I never want to work with this demographic, not because I don't like them, not because they're too basic or too advanced, just I don't feel this is a part of my market I want to serve.""If you've been thinking about a price increase for your membership, just do what we're doing. Make sure you're utilizing that legacy pricing because not only does it work as a marketing strategy, it's also the fairest thing to do for your existing members."
In this episode, I dive into what it really means to be a productive membership owner with special guest Louise Miller.We explore why traditional approaches to productivity might be missing the mark and how to create more space and intention in your day-to-day operations.This conversation is packed with practical insights for redefining productivity, regaining focus, and helping both yourself and your members achieve more—without the overwhelm or burnout.In this episode:What does productivity actually mean for membership owners, and why might traditional definitions be holding us back?How can you shift your mindset and daily habits to focus on what’s truly important—instead of just getting more “stuff” done?What practical steps can you take to create more space, clarity, and effective action in your business, even amidst daily chaos and unexpected challenges?How can you support your own members’ productivity and implementation, reducing churn and helping them achieve the transformation they joined your community for?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"I had to redefine productivity for myself before I started doing the work that I do, because the definition I've been carrying around with me, which I think is probably what a lot of other people carry around with them, actually made me ill.""Was it taking a moment to just stop and get a bit of perspective? And that's where I think productivity starts in understanding that when you're in. I call this a kind of frantic and frazzled overwhelm loop of maybe sitting down at your desk going, oh, my God, I've got all this to do, man, your brain immediately starts going into overdrive.""I was putting my own business development at the end of the week and I was doing it on Fridays, thinking, oh, Friday, a nice day to do my business development, by which time I was knackered and. Or mopping up stuff that I hadn't managed to get done during the week, which meant the signal I was sending to my brain was that my stuff, not a priority.""And what I see quite a lot is memberships are really good with the inspiration and the information, but can fall down a little bit when it comes to the implementation piece."
In this episode, I get on my soapbox about one of the most persistent myths in the membership world: the idea that scarcity marketing and closed-door enrollment are absolutely necessary to grow a successful membership.I break down why this notion is misleading, how it can harm your business in the long run, and why good marketing should never rely on manipulative gimmicks.I share real-world examples, challenge some of the loudest voices in the space, and lay out the facts so you can make the best decision for your membership business.In this episode:Do you really need scarcity or closed-door enrollment to sell and grow a membership?What are the long-term consequences of relying on scarcity tactics for membership sales?When (if ever) does a closed-door model actually make strategic sense for a membership business?How can you create genuine urgency and attract committed members without resorting to manipulative marketing gimmicks?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"A handful of tacky Internet marketers have been pushing this narrative that you need scarcity to sell a membership and that the closed door model is the one true way.""Closed door can and does work for numerous memberships, and for many of those memberships it's absolutely the right model, based on their audience needs, based on their business structure, based on the topic they're teaching, and so on.""The overwhelming majority of successful memberships are open door and they always have been. 12,000 members in membership academy, 60,000 in SBL. Same sort of numbers with Drumeo memberships, like Digital Marketer memberships like Masterclass. These are always open doors. We get sales. We don't have to close the doors to give people a reason to join because our memberships are good enough to give people the reason to join in and of themselves.""If any part of your marketing relies on being sneaky, relies on not being found out, then you're doing it wrong. If you're misleading your audience into thinking something is scarce and trying to use that scarcity to pressure them into a buying decision that they're not ready for, but then even worse, it turns out that it's all a ruse, it's all bs, then you absolutely suck on every level imaginable."
In this episode, I dive into the ever-evolving world of podcasting with special guest Colin Gray, founder of The Podcast Host and Alitu.Together, we unpack the new rules of the podcasting landscape in 2024, explore how independent creators can still stand out in a space now dominated by big names and AI-generated content, and discuss strategies for using podcasts to grow and deepen your membership business.Whether you're running a podcast or thinking of starting one, this conversation is packed with actionable insights and real talk on what really works right now.In this episode:Is it too late for independent creators to succeed in podcasting amid increased competition and the rise of celebrity-led and AI-generated shows?What are the most effective ways to increase discoverability and grow a podcast audience in today’s saturated market?How has podcasting changed in recent years, and what new strategies should membership site owners consider for using podcasts as a marketing tool?In a world of rapidly improving AI content, what makes a human-led podcast stand out and build a loyal, engaged community?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"It feels like all of the general purpose, general conversation, broad appeal shows, they're now all just run by celebrities because they've all jumped into it, because it's proven that it can make them money, it's become popular.""You can make a living out of 100 listeners, 200 listeners, because you can build such trust and such credibility that you can sell a really high ticket, consulting package membership, whatever that might be.""Because they've got to know you, they go and listen to the show. And they're so much more likely to become fans that then pass it on to their friends and pass it around their communities. And those elements just scale so much more in a podcast than they do in any other medium because people spend so much time with you.""If you want to use clips, generally you want to commit to actually like making sure you've got a decent enough webcam and just get one like nice light that you'll place behind your webcam and that makes all the difference. It can, that can turn you from like a really crappy looking video into something that's like quite passable and quite decent."
In this episode, I dive into my top five priorities that will fuel your membership success in 2026.I share the key actions and mindset shifts that every membership owner, whether just starting out or looking to scale, should be focusing on to ensure lasting growth.From getting a grip on your numbers to embracing a results-driven approach, experimenting more, and building the right support network, I break down practical, proven advice to set you up for an amazing year with your membership business.In this episode:Why is understanding your numbers and KPIs so essential for sustainable membership growth, and how do you get started?How has the value of content changed, and why should you stop positioning your membership as just a library of resources?In what ways can diversifying your offerings safeguard your membership business and better serve your audience's evolving needs?Why is experimentation, as well as surrounding yourself with the right support network, key to overcoming industry changes and staying ahead in 2026?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"You can work hard all year bringing in 120 new people over the year, and you'll end the year with pretty much no increase in your member base. Because that 8% churn rate that maybe you don't realize is 8% will mean that you are just hemorrhaging as many members as you're attracting.""People want certainty. People like being sold proven formulas. That's why a lot of dodgy Internet marketers do so well, because they stand up there and say, you know what, I've got this proven formula. You just do this, then this, then this and this and you're guaranteed results. And yeah, that guarantees not worth the paper it's printed on.""We bring you that community, we bring you that accountability, that place that you can go to that is safe for you to vent about that problem member and get a little bit of advice for you to admit, you know what, I'm stuck. I've tried all these things and they have not worked.""But more importantly, you have the room to be in. You have the community that will give you that support network, that will give you the sounding board, that will cheer you on and pick you up, give you their experiences, give you the benefit of their knowledge, share what they're doing and work together to ensure that 2026 doesn't just see one or two of us growing our memberships. 2026 sees us all growing and thriving."
In this episode, I explore the importance of truly stepping away from your membership business over the holiday season.I share personal stories and practical advice on setting boundaries and embracing rest, debunking the myth that constant hustle is required for success.I also discuss how taking a real break not only protects your wellbeing, but can spark creativity and increase your effectiveness as a membership owner in the new year.Tune in for actionable tips to help you (and your community) enjoy the festive period guilt-free.In this episode:Why is it essential for membership owners to take genuine time off during the holidays, rather than just reducing work hours?What are the consequences of always being available and not properly disconnecting from your business?How can you plan and communicate your holiday break effectively to your team and members?What are the benefits—both personal and strategic—to stepping back from your membership, and how can it set you up for success in the new year?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"If you burn yourself out because you're not able to pull yourself away from your business, you're going to take all of that exhaustion, all of that resentment, because that will build. You're going to take all of that into the new year and that will absolutely bleed into every aspect of what you do. Your members don't want a version of you that's running on fumes, that's not rested.""When the brain is distracted by other things is when some of the best actual ideas and creativity comes up. When you take that time out, when you allow yourself to step back, you make space for those big ideas to show up.""You'll find that any time going forward that you want to take a break away, it no longer feels like it's a risk. It no longer feels like something you should be guilty about. You start to see it as a normal, healthy part of running your membership, because it is. And you'll come back from that break fresher, motivated, with a clearer idea of how the next year is going to look than you would if you'd spent the holidays balancing your laptop on your knee when you should be having Christmas dinner and enjoying the break."
In this episode, I discuss the most critical mistake that I see far too many membership business owners making—neglecting their new member onboarding process.I emphasize why onboarding isn’t just a nice-to-have, but a fundamental pillar for ensuring member retention and long-term business success.Drawing on over a decade of experience, I break down actionable strategies to set new members up for a positive, engaging start.Whether you’re brand new or running a well-established membership, these insights will help you avoid costly pitfalls and boost your retention rates.In this episode:Why is the new member onboarding process so crucial for the success of a membership business?What typically goes wrong when onboarding is overlooked or poorly executed?What are the four essential steps that every onboarding strategy should include?How can membership owners improve their current onboarding experience to increase member retention and satisfaction?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"And so now those first few minutes, those first hours of someone's memberships, instead of those being spent with them excitedly taking their first steps towards the success that they're seeking, they're instead going to have to spend a bunch of time figuring out where the heck everything is, how it all works, clicking around different links to see what they do, where they go, what's on offer.""A warm welcome. The first page that someone sees after they've completed registration should feature a message from you, preferably video, giving them that warm welcome. Big, smiley, happy, confident, thanking them for joining, validating their buying decision and telling them what's next.""Four to five simple actions that will get them started the right way. Give them a quick win, get them to introduce themselves into your community to sign up for their first live training call. Set them on the path towards whatever they joined your membership to accomplish."
In this episode, I tackle the rise of AI-generated "slop" and what it means for those of us running membership businesses.I share practical strategies for standing out in an era where generic, low-effort content is flooding the internet.I discuss why your real voice, perspective, and personal touch are more valuable than ever—and how to leverage these strengths both in your content marketing and inside your membership.Join me for a conversation on keeping things authentic, building trust, and rising above the AI noise.In this episode:How can membership owners differentiate themselves when AI-generated content is everywhere?What types of content and formats showcase your unique personality and expertise beyond what AI can replicate?Why is authenticity, storytelling, and vulnerability so crucial for building trust with your audience today?How should the value proposition of a membership evolve in a world where "more content" is no longer enough?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"It doesn't matter how good your blog content is, because it's going to get buried. Your audience is going to have less and less trust because we don't always know. We can't tell whether we're reading something that is genuinely coming from the person whose name is is attached to it or Whether they've just cobbled it together in a few minutes from whatever chatgpt is spat out.""AI can summarize things, it can paraphrase, it can mix different sources around. But AI doesn't have a perspective, it doesn't care. It doesn't get heated up about something, it doesn't stand for or against anything, it doesn't attempt to convince, it doesn't attempt to make a strong argument, it doesn't feel, obviously.""We all know for so many years, social media has just become this curated highlight reel where everyone projects this version of themselves that they want other people to believe is reality. But actually more and more people want to see the real. They want to see the process, they want to see the messy version, they want to see the work, they want to see the real human, the stuff that AI will churn out. It's always going to be generic, it's always going to be a bit more polished, a bit more perfect, a bit middle of the road."
In this episode, I dive into the power of feedback loops and how they've been instrumental in driving membership growth for our community.I share exclusive insights from my session at Retain Live 2025, breaking down how to effectively gather, analyze, and act on feedback at every stage of the member lifecycle.You'll learn practical tactics for not only getting useful member input, but also using it to shape your offerings, refine your marketing, and boost retention.If you're ready to make your members feel heard and create a more engaging and successful membership, this episode is for you.In this episode:What exactly is a feedback loop, and why is it so vital for membership businesses?How can you effectively gather and use feedback from non-buyers, new members, existing members, and those leaving your community?What are the key stages in the member lifecycle where feedback loops should be implemented for maximum impact?How do you close the loop by showing members the tangible results and changes that result from their feedback?Thank You For ListeningI really appreciate you choosing us and for supporting the podcast.What's your next step?If you haven't launched your membership yet, I've made my signature Membership Roadmap Course completely FREE, walking you through exactly how to get set up for success!Already have a membership and looking to grow and scale? Join me inside Membership Academy where I'll help you take your membership to the next level.And if you found this episode valuable, I'd be eternally grateful if you would leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience, and I read each and every one!Key Quotes & Takeaways:"You need to speak to your audience, to your members, to your buyers, your non buyers, your ex members. That feedback is critical for guiding the growth of your business. But it's not enough to just get that feedback. You need to know what feedback to ask for and what to do with it.""And when they respond, listen, reply, have that conversation, but also take the responses and start creating content from it. Address the frequently asked questions, the frequent obstacles and objections that come up.""If someone's leaving, we need to know why and this shouldn't be a passive thing. We need to survey our outgoing members. We need to ideally have something in place before the cancellation is final, where we ask them why they are no longer staying in the membership and then respond to that before the final decision is made, offer them some alternatives to cancelling, acknowledge any frustrations, show that we care and we want them to stay so it's not just a case of them clicking the button and they're gone."
In this from the vault episode, I dive into one of the most important yet often overlooked aspects of running a membership business: managing stress.As memberships grow and evolve, it’s easy to find yourself overwhelmed by unrealistic expectations, perfectionism, and trying to do everything yourself.I share eight actionable tips from the archives on how to ease that pressure and prevent burnout, with plenty of practical advice for maintaining your mental health and building a sustainable business.Whether you’re just starting out or are an experienced membership owner, this episode will help you keep things in perspective and enjoy the journey.In this episode:How can you set realistic expectations for your membership growth and success?What strategies help you avoid perfectionism and focus on sustainable, long-term progress?What boundaries and outsourcing tactics can reduce overwhelm and keep your work-life balance in check?How do you keep stress in context and avoid unnecessary anxiety about delays, changes, or member demands?Key Quotes & Takeaways:“With memberships, you get to set the terms. You get to create a business of your own design that fits with your goals for your life.”“You're not creating a finished product, you're starting a journey. You have the freedom and flexibility to adapt and evolve your membership over time.”“Don't try and do everything yourself. You're not a superhero.”Thank You For ListeningWe really appreciate you choosing to listen to us and for supporting the podcast. We would be eternally grateful if you would consider taking a minute or two to leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience and we read each and every one personally!Finally, don't forget to subscribe to the podcast to make sure that you never miss an episode.
In this from the vault episode, I dive into the essential steps every membership site owner should take after launching their membership.It’s not just about getting started—the real work begins once your site is live, and what you do next can make or break your success.I revisit some timeless strategies for keeping your momentum strong, nurturing your new members, and planning for steady growth.Whether you’ve just launched, stalled, or are looking ahead, this practical guide will help you set a solid foundation for your membership’s future.In this episode:How can you effectively assess what worked (and didn’t) during your membership launch?What steps should you take to ensure new members are engaged and set up for success?How do you gather and leverage early social proof to fuel continued marketing?What are the best ways to follow up with non-buyers and plan your ongoing organic marketing efforts after launch?Key Quotes & Takeaways:“90% of success is all about what happens on the inside of a membership.” “In the afterglow of your launch, those first 30 days or so, really keep an eye out for any posts, comments, and feedback that you can use from your community…and then turn that into marketing collateral.”“You want those people that were on the fence during your launch and decided against joining to be kicking themselves for not signing up.”Thank You For ListeningWe really appreciate you choosing to listen to us and for supporting the podcast. We would be eternally grateful if you would consider taking a minute or two to leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience and we read each and every one personally!Finally, don't forget to subscribe to the podcast to make sure that you never miss an episode.
In this special "From the Vault" episode, I dive deep into the biggest and most frustrating marketing myths that circulate in the world of membership sites.After more than a decade of helping membership owners, I've heard it all—from secret silver bullets to outdated pressure tactics.I unpack the myths, the nonsense, and the misleading advice that could be steering your membership off course.Join me as I challenge some of the most common misconceptions and share what actually works for building and marketing a successful membership.In this episode:Why is the idea that you have to pressure people to "buy today" potentially harmful to your membership business?Do you really need scarcity tactics to effectively market and sell your membership?Is it true that "a good product sells itself" and what role does audience building play in your success?Do you need a massive audience to launch and grow your membership, or can dedicated superfans be enough?Key Quotes & Takeaways:“Successful marketing is all about getting the right message, to the right person, at the right time.”“Some people are just not ready to buy when you’re ready to sell. Your business and how you market it is actually more about being there when someone is ready to buy, rather than trying to force the sale too quickly.”“If you’re not able to connect the dots and to compel people to put their hand in their pocket and pay you for the solution to their problem then it doesn’t matter how great your membership is, it doesn’t matter how great your product is. “Build it and they will come” is not a valid strategy.”Thank You For ListeningWe really appreciate you choosing to listen to us and for supporting the podcast. We would be eternally grateful if you would consider taking a minute or two to leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience and we read each and every one personally!Finally, don't forget to subscribe to the podcast to make sure that you never miss an episode.
In this episode, I dive into the often-overlooked group within membership communities: the "lurkers"—those quiet members who rarely participate publicly but remain subscribed and engaged in their own ways.I break down why silence doesn't mean disengagement, how these silent members may actually be some of your most valuable, and what you as a membership owner can do to serve and retain them.I also share practical tips for balancing your community to support both vocal and quieter members, ensuring your membership thrives for everyone.If you're ready to rethink how you look at engagement and create a space where all types of members feel valued, this episode is for you.In this episode:Who are the "lurkers" in membership communities, and why do they matter?Does silence from members really mean they're disengaged or not finding value in your membership?What mistakes do membership owners make when trying to increase engagement, and how can these backfire?How can you better serve and retain your quieter members without alienating them or making them uncomfortable?Key Quotes & Takeaways:"Some of your longest standing, most loyal members may be the ones that you've never heard from. They don't need to be active in your community to get what they came for. They don't need to turn up to live calls to actually see value. They might be quietly in the background, binging your courses, downloading and utilizing templates, or simply taking comfort from knowing that your resources, your content, your support is there when they need it. They might not be visible, but they're still quietly succeeding because of what you provide.""Your courses, your downloads, your templates, your toolkits, whatever content you're creating, they should still deliver value, even if someone never once sets foot in the community. That way lurkers will still feel like being part of your membership is worthwhile and is valued.""Lurking is a perfectly valid form of participation, and the silent majority in your membership are often just as valuable, if not more valuable, than the vocal minority."Thank You For ListeningWe really appreciate you choosing to listen to us and for supporting the podcast. We would be eternally grateful if you would consider taking a minute or two to leave an honest review and rating for the show. They're extremely helpful when it comes to reaching our audience and we read each and every one personally!Finally, don't forget to subscribe to the podcast to make sure that you never miss an episode.
























Great advice here: very reassuring and sounds like complete common sense.