DiscoverQueen Speaking
Queen Speaking
Claim Ownership

Queen Speaking

Author: Queen Speaking

Subscribed: 34Played: 257
Share

Description

A podcast for women as we navigate our personal and professional lives, sharing the inspiration that helps us along the way.
Together we’ll celebrate our triumphs and dig into our setbacks. We're giving voice to the experiences we live on a daily basis in search of continued self awareness. Let's find more ways to create opportunity for ourselves and advocate for our communities.
83 Episodes
Reverse
This episode is inspired by The Crane Wife, an essay from The Paris Review. We’re talking about needs — why they matter, defining them for ourselves, and how to communicate them, even when it’s hard. Links in this episode:* FiveThirtyEight Podcasts (https://fivethirtyeight.com/tag/fivethirtyeight-podcasts/)* KCRW's Left, Right & Center (https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444881/k-c-r-w-s-left-right-center)* Pinch of Yum: Thai Chicken Salad (https://pinchofyum.com/chopped-thai-chicken-salad)* Bon Appetit: Ramen Noodles with Miso Pesto (https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/miso-pesto-with-ramen-noodles)* The Paris Review: The Crane Wife (https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2019/07/16/the-crane-wife/)
Sometimes vacation is the break we need and other times all we want is a breather from the day-to-day. We’re talking about how taking a step back from it all can help us realign with what matters most. Let’s clear our plates so we can fill them back up with things that make us most happy.Links in this episode:* Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng (https://www.amazon.com/Little-Fires-Everywhere-Celeste-Ng/dp/0735224293)* Psychology Today: Find a Therapist (https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapists)
In our latest Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode, we’re gushing about Reese Witherspoon—Big Little Lies, her media company, Hello Sunshine, the value of friendship, and why having a support system can help you conquer new and challenging work that makes a lasting impact.Links in this episode:* Knix: Thigh Saver Short (https://knix.com/products/thigh-saver-short) * Man Repeller: 14 People on How They Actually Made New Friends as an Adult (https://www.manrepeller.com/2019/06/advice-adult-friendship.html)* Inc.com: Even Brené Brown Gets Nervous at Public Speaking Engagements. Here Are Her 3 Tricks for Calming Nerves (https://www.inc.com/melanie-curtin/even-brene-brown-gets-nervous-at-public-speaking-engagements-here-are-her-3-tricks-for-calming-nerves.html)* InStyle: Reese Witherspoon on How to Get What You Want (https://www.instyle.com/celebrity/reese-witherspoon-june-cover)* Forbes: 5 Things I Learned From Reese Witherspoon's Company Hello Sunshine (https://www.forbes.com/sites/marybethferrante/2018/11/29/5-things-i-learned-from-reese-witherspoons-company-hello-sunshine/#63f15ed9760b)* Cinema Blend: The 10 Best Reese Witherspoon Movies, Ranked (https://www.cinemablend.com/news/2474662/the-10-best-reese-witherspoon-movies-ranked)* @ReeseWitherspoon on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/reesewitherspoon/?hl=en)
We talk through why it’s good for your well-being to have a hobby and what questions to ask to find one that works for you. (Originally aired on 06/01/18).Links in this episode:- HubSpot Academy Courses & Certifications (https://academy.hubspot.com/courses)- Queen Speaking Episode 7: Continuing Education (http://www.queenspeaking.com/7)- Barnard College Commencement: Abby Wambach, Remarks as Delivered (https://barnard.edu/commencement/archives/2018/abby-wambach-remarks)- A Plus: We'd take relationship advice from Will Smith (https://www.facebook.com/aplusapp/videos/1921514897919437/?hc_ref=ARTUbdOy1bGcNmHCUIiVoaFsJk0IELEI6zt7DcLI2qSp3uqpwkK3_YUHtal6zK-z1Gw)- The Cut: Welcome to ‘Get a Hobby’ Week (https://www.thecut.com/2018/01/all-the-cuts-articles-on-hobbies-to-try-in-2018.html)- The Cut: Not Everything Is A Side Hustle (https://www.thecut.com/2018/01/hobbies-dont-need-to-make-you-money.html)- Bustle: How To Find A Hobby As An Adult (https://www.bustle.com/articles/119942-how-to-find-a-hobby-as-an-adult)- The Everygirl: How to Find Your Passion as an Adult (and Why It’s So Important) (http://theeverygirl.com/how-to-find-your-passion-as-an-adult/)- The Cut: Why Hobbies Make You Happy (https://www.thecut.com/2018/01/why-hobbies-make-you-happy.html)
Good leaders listen well, pay attention, and ask relevant questions. We talk through the ways to improve your active listening skills to help you build strong relationships. (Originally aired on 04/20/18).Links in this episode:- Seth Godin: Effort in the face of near-certain rejection (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2018/04/effort-in-the-face-of-near-certain-rejection.html) - Fast Company: How One Simple Change Can Make You A Better Listener (https://www.fastcompany.com/3042330/how-one-simple-change-can-make-you-a-better-listener)- The Cut: How to Be an Excellent (or at Least Pretty Good) Listener (https://www.thecut.com/2017/12/how-to-be-a-better-listener.html)
We walk through how to pare down to the essentials, mix and match, and build your capsule wardrobe. (Originally aired on 04/06/18).Links in this episode:- Chrissy Rutherford on fear (https://www.instagram.com/p/Bg3fWixBT02/?hl=en&taken-by=chrissyford)- Food & Wine: Red Wine BBQ Chicken (http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/red-wine-bbq-chicken)- Marie Kondo (http://konmari.com/)- Unfancy: My Spring Capsule-ish Wardrobe (http://www.un-fancy.com/capsule-wardrobe-101/my-capsule-ish-wardrobe-spring-2017/)- The Pastiche: Spring capsule wardrobe experiment (http://www.thepastiche.com/blog/2016-spring-capsule-wardrobe-experiment?rq=capsule%20wardrobe)- Poshmark (https://poshmark.com/feed)- Cladwell Capsule Wardrobe (https://cladwell.com/capsules/)- Vetta Capsule Wardrobe (https://www.vettacapsule.com/) - Everlane (https://www.everlane.com/)- Eileen Fisher (https://www.eileenfisher.com/women/collections/the-system)- Who What Wear: The Capsule Wardrobe: How to Reduce Your Closet to 37 Pieces (http://www.whowhatwear.com/how-to-capsule-wardrobe)- Rent the Runway (https://www.renttherunway.com/)- Le Tote (https://www.letote.com/)- Stitch Fix (https://www.stitchfix.com/) - Miss Louie on YouTube: 12 pieces = 30 outfits (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPxsrEPrHSY&t=38s) + Winter to Spring (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YsCcEfr10k)
If you’re asking, “Where do I begin? I don’t have time or the resources to meal prep.” We uncover helpful resources and apps to get you started on your meal prep journey. (Originally aired on 03/16/18).Links in this episode:- Kayla Itsines: Meal Prep 101 (https://www.kaylaitsines.com/blogs/lifestyle/18903859-meal-prep-101-for-beginners)- Amazon: 20 pack of reusable containers with compartments (https://amzn.to/2CJRD7E)- MyDomaine: The Single Person's Guide to Cooking for One (http://www.mydomaine.com/cooking-for-one-tips/slide2)- Food52 - newsletter mini series: Change The Way You Cook - Lessons in the Kitchen (https://food52.com/p/change-the-way-you-cook-lessons) - Chickpea Magazine: Weekly Meal Plan printable (https://chickpeamagazine.com/products/basic-meal-planner?variant=32621235716)- Gimme Some Oven: Barbacoa recipe (https://www.gimmesomeoven.com/barbacoa-recipe/)- Apps: Cozi (http://www.cozi.com/), Yummly (https://www.yummly.com/), AnyList (https://www.anylist.com/), PepperPlate (https://www.pepperplate.com/), Mealboard (http://www.mealboard.com/), Tone It Up Nutrition Plan (https://my.toneitup.com/pages/tone-it-up-nutrition-plan-kit)
Are you experiencing the Dunning-Kruger Effect—where the more experience you have, the less confident you are in the work you produce? We’re talking about the ways imposter syndrome can make you feel like a fraud, coping behaviors associated with it, and then how to break the cycle.*Update: * We’re also taking a podcast vacation for the month of July—actual vacation getaways + revisiting our Queen Speaking action plan to continue bringing you great content! As we like to say, sometimes taking a break is part of the hustle. We’ll have fresh episodes for you in few weeks. See you back here in August!Links in this episode:* Healthyish: The Healthyish Guide to Your 30s (https://www.bonappetit.com/story/guide-to-your-30s)* Nick Wignall: Emotional Intelligence is Overrated. Aim for Emotional Fitness Instead (https://nickwignall.com/emotional-fitness-introduction/)* Being Boss: Episode #150 // The Imposter Complex with Tanya Geisler (https://beingboss.club/podcast/episode-150-impostor-complex-tanya-geisler)* Career Contessa: Feel Like a Fraud? 3 Questions to Help You Beat Impostor Syndrome (https://www.careercontessa.com/advice/constantly-comparing-yourself-to-others/) * Ideas.TED.com: 4 ways to quiet imposter syndrome and start believing in yourself (https://ideas.ted.com/4-ways-to-quiet-imposter-syndrome-and-start-believing-in-yourself/)* @TheScienceofBecoming: Dunning-Kruger Effect (https://www.instagram.com/p/Byc7X6JBg60/)
We're taking time management to another level! What can we do to maximize our energy—physical, mental and emotional to impact our productivity?Links in this episode:* HBO: The Sopranos (https://www.hbo.com/the-sopranos)* Hulu: The Handmaid’s Tale (https://www.hulu.com/series/the-handmaids-tale-565d8976-9d26-4e63-866c-40f8a137ce5f)* FX: Pose (https://www.fxnetworks.com/shows/pose)* First Round Review: Our 6 Must Reads for Honing Focus and Managing Your Time (https://firstround.com/review/our-6-must-reads-for-honing-focus-and-managing-your-time/)* First Round Review: The Brain Hacks Top Founders Use to Get the Job Done (https://firstround.com/review/The-Brain-Hacks-Top-Founders-Use-to-Get-Stuff-Done/)
Inspired by Brittany Packnett’s TED talk about confidence coming from permission, community, and curiosity, we dive into more ways to boost your confidence and how to put these tips into practice.Links in this episode:* Simon Sinek: Notes to Inspire (https://startwithwhy.us9.list-manage.com/subscribe/post?u=febe4bcef7d845ddbdad2915d&id=67907679e4)* Quartzy Newsletter: May 24, 2019 (https://qz.com/emails/quartzy/1624219/)* TED: Brittany Packnett: How To Build Your Confidence — and Spark It In Others (https://www.ted.com/talks/brittany_packnett_how_to_build_your_confidence_and_spark_it_in_others)* The Tim Ferriss Show: Derek Sivers on Developing Confidence, Finding Happiness, and Saying “No” to Millions (https://podcastnotes.org/2019/05/13/sivers/)* So Money with Farnoosh Torabi: Karen Rinaldi, Author of (It's Great to) Suck at Something (http://podcast.farnoosh.tv/episode/karen-rinaldi-2/)* Zen Habits: 25 Killer Actions to Boost Your Self-Confidence (https://zenhabits.net/25-killer-actions-to-boost-your-self-confidence/)
loading
Comments 
loading
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store