DiscoverQueen Speaking
Queen Speaking
Claim Ownership

Queen Speaking

Author: Queen Speaking

Subscribed: 37Played: 469
Share

Description

A podcast for women as we navigate our personal and professional lives, sharing the inspiration that helps us along the way.
Together we’ll celebrate our triumphs and dig into our setbacks. We're giving voice to the experiences we live on a daily basis in search of continued self awareness. Let's find more ways to create opportunity for ourselves and advocate for our communities.
123 Episodes
Reverse
As some people re-evaluate their wedding plans, we wanted to discuss what to consider when planning an intimate wedding ceremony and celebration. We're sharing Breanna's tips from her recent elopement as well as Syd's officiant insight. Links in this episode: * Gluten Free Crusty Artisan Bread (Cup4Cup gluten free flour blend) (https://www.foodiesofnewengland.com/recipes/appetizers/gluten-free-crusty-artisan-bread-cup4cup-gluten-free-flour-blend/) * Hulu, iHeartRadio Launch 'Little Fires Everywhere' Companion Podcast (https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/hulu-iheartradio-launch-little-fires-everywhere-companion-podcast-1285126) * Paper Source Wedding collection (https://www.papersource.com/wedding) * Paperless Post Wedding collection (https://www.paperlesspost.com/wedding) * The Knot: How to Get a Marriage License (https://www.theknot.com/content/marriage-license-basics) * Lulus: Dreams of Forever White Three-Quarter Sleeve Bodycon Midi Dress (https://www.lulus.com/products/1051762/dreams-of-forever-white-three-quarter-sleeve-bodycon-midi-dress.html) * Rent the Runway: Dresses for the Bride (https://www.renttherunway.com/pdp/shop/bride/products?filters%5Bzip_code%5D=14620&sort=recommended#1590002541569) * DM Syd @queen_speaking on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/queen_speaking/) if you want to learn more about Wedding Bell Unions!
We’re back with a new Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode about Mindy Kaling. She’s a creator, producer, writer, actor, author, fashion maven, and many other things. Her commentary about her life and work is refreshing and we’re excited to share why she’s this month’s pick. Links in this episode: * J Crew: Deep V-neck french one-piece swimsuit (https://www.jcrew.com/p/womens_category/swimwear/deep-vneck-french-onepiece-swimsuit/L2584) * Bon Appetit: There's No Better Time to... Regrow Your Scallions (https://www.bonappetit.com/story/regrow-scallions) * NY Times: Mindy Kaling’s Netflix Show Tells a New Kind of Story: One Like Hers (https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/27/arts/television/mindy-kaling-never-have-I-ever-netflix.html) * The Office on Netflix (https://www.netflix.com/title/70136120) * Never Have I Ever on Netflix (https://www.netflix.com/title/80179190) * The Mindy Project on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/the-mindy-project-6a9ba460-9474-481a-a3d8-dbc942f12355) * Four Weddings and a Funeral on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/four-weddings-and-a-funeral-2e17b3b3-cadf-41ee-b8a2-59fe64c17f67) * Late Night on Amazon Prime (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.16b657ca-0141-efe9-29ae-20d0dbea3147?autoplay=1) * Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling (https://www.amazon.com/Everyone-Hanging-Without-Other-Concerns/dp/0307886271) * Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling (https://www.amazon.com/Why-Not-Me-Mindy-Kaling/dp/0804138168)
We’d like to talk about habits we’ve established during this weird time that we’d like to consciously hang on to post-quarantine. Links in this episode: * Journaling tips from @blessthemessy on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/p/B_aTUudhAKl/)
This week, we’re coming at you with our favorite movie recommendations as we spend more time in front of our screens. Links in this episode: * Thermacell patio shield (https://www.amazon.com/Thermacell-Shield-Mosquito-Repeller-Multiple/dp/B07G42R8R5) * Repel Plant-Based Lemon Eucalyptus Insect Repellent (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004N59OFU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) * Mystic Pizza (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.e8a9f775-d5a6-d92d-f4bc-c60591045d4c) * My Best Friend's Wedding (https://www.amazon.com/My-Best-Friends-Wedding-Hogan/dp/B000I9U77O) * American Pie (https://www.hbo.com/movies/american-pie) * Pretty in Pink (https://www.amazon.com/Pretty-Pink-Howard-Deutch/dp/B001D0BLTA) * 10 Things I Hate About You (https://www.disneyplus.com/movies/10-things-i-hate-about-you/10OzquDiTIJB) * Clueless (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.d2a9f70d-895b-6f9a-9930-e874bf193355) * A League of Their Own (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.18a9f761-2d68-86a8-5c6c-295a57e578bd) * Techradar: How to watch the Marvel movies in order (https://www.techradar.com/how-to/how-to-watch-the-marvel-movies-in-order) * The Fast and the Furious (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.7aa9f718-92f4-da0d-144e-b548b6f76837) * To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (https://www.netflix.com/title/80203147) * Hidden Figures (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.08acbb03-81eb-849a-9a07-2e9b6775559e) * Game Night (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.48b0d84d-80e1-e9c8-9a77-8f37aa100635) * Baby Driver (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.76ae61ff-94b1-06d8-762e-8c542e1c978d) * Booksmart (https://www.hulu.com/movie/booksmart-032a0523-9fda-41bf-97c1-a44097b9e9fe) * Long Shot (https://www.amazon.com/Long-Shot-Seth-Rogen/dp/B07RD5JK3S) * Always Be My Maybe (https://www.netflix.com/title/80202874) * Peanut Butter Falcon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/video/detail/amzn1.dv.gti.e2b635b0-8598-19dc-1839-e197a7ed0aac) * Amy Winehouse documentary (https://www.netflix.com/title/80049094?source=35) * 20 Feet from Stardom (https://www.netflix.com/title/70267838?source=35) * The End of the Tour (https://www.netflix.com/title/80037478) * The Everygirl: 35 Feel-Good Movies to Stream (https://theeverygirl.com/feel-good-movies/)
The world is weird right now so we wanted to talk about what’s bringing us joy and how we maximize it. Links in this episode * Paper Source: Full-Page Photo Wedding Invitation (https://www.papersource.com/wedding/full-page-photo-v-wedding-invitation-w716-182305205220.html) * Zazzle: Wedding Announcement Postcard (https://www.zazzle.com/just_married_modern_casual_script_wedding_announcement_postcard-256212576722237898) * Houseparty app (https://houseparty.com/) * SomeGoodNews (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOe_y6KKvS3PdIfb9q9pGug) * NPR: Pop Culture Happy Hour (https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510282/pop-culture-happy-hour) * Crooked Media: Keep It (https://crooked.com/podcast-series/keep-it/) * Monica & Jess Love Boys (https://armchairexpertpod.com/monica-jess-love-boys) * The Bechdel Cast (https://www.iheart.com/podcast/105-the-bechdel-cast-30089535/) * Woodside Studio: Face masks (https://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodsidePlaceStudio) * Paislee Boutique on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/p/B-XoHThhi5d/) * Jacey Duprie on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/jaceyduprie/?hl=en) * Bless The Messy on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/p/B-4btaXBha4/)
Since we’re all staying home, we wanted to revisit our “Hot Take on TV” series of episodes with some binge-worthy faves — our recommendations for TV shows to watch and re-watch! Links in this episode: * BOXFOX (https://shopboxfox.com/) * Succession on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/succession) * Big Little Lies on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/big-little-lies) * Westworld on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/westworld) * Euphoria on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/euphoria) * Watchmen on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/watchmen) * High Maintenance on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/high-maintenance) * Insecure on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/insecure) * Little Fires Everywhere on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/little-fires-everywhere-bce24897-1a74-48a3-95e8-6cdd530dde4c) * The Righteous Gemstones on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/the-righteous-gemstones) * On My Block on Netflix (https://www.netflix.com/title/80117809) * Good Girls on ABC (https://www.nbc.com/good-girls) * How to Make It In America on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/how-to-make-it-in-america) * Charmed on Netflix (https://www.netflix.com/title/70155629) * Gilmore Girls on Netflix (https://www.netflix.com/title/70155618) * Brooklyn Nine-Nine on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/brooklyn-nine-nine-daf48b7a-6cd7-4ef6-b639-a4811ec95232) * Parks and Recreation on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/parks-and-recreation-93dc18da-96d9-4841-b125-40f901f7e7eb) * Saved By the Bell on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/saved-by-the-bell-db5e7b34-9260-4bd9-8d0f-99ff78a15b50) * Sex and the City on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/sex-and-the-city) * Happy Endings on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/happy-endings-cb5170ec-a4c4-4c84-9e6f-4068981a7abc)
In early March, we attended the “Can’t Do It All Workshop” hosted by licensed marriage and family therapist, Alaina Brubaker at Rochester Brainery. Since many of us feel trapped by pressure and expectation to do more, we're recapping her tips to organize our lives according to our values and priorities. Links in this episode: * Brooklyn Nine-Nine on Hulu (https://www.hulu.com/series/brooklyn-nine-nine-daf48b7a-6cd7-4ef6-b639-a4811ec95232) * @Alainatalkstherapy on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/alaina_talks_therapy/) * Rochester Brainery (https://rochesterbrainery.com/) * Brene Brown: List of Values (https://daretolead.brenebrown.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Values.pdf)
In this month’s Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode, we wanted to highlight someone we admire, but one who’s also been getting us through these uncertain times as we deal with quarantine and a rapidly shifting economy. Here’s to Farnoosh Torabi, her podcast, So Money, and all the things we can learn from her. Links in this episode: * Nike Training Club app (https://www.nike.com/ntc-app) * Instagram live dance party workout with @Ryan.Heffington (https://www.instagram.com/ryan.heffington/) * Medium: The 5-Minute ‘Shutdown Routine’ That Can Improve Your Entire Day (https://forge.medium.com/the-5-minute-shutdown-routine-that-can-improve-your-entire-day-f37df606d449) * Farnoosh: America’s leading personal finance expert, hooked on helping you live your richest, most fulfilling life (https://farnoosh.tv/) * So Money with Farnoosh Torabi (https://podcast.farnoosh.tv/) * Ask Farnoosh: Episode 1016 (https://podcast.farnoosh.tv/episode/ask-farnoosh-269/)
There’s a lot going on for everyone right now — uncertainty with work, how we live, how we connect, and how we take care of ourselves. With a lot of things up in the air, we wanted to talk about how we can take extra steps to take care of ourselves mentally and physically when we’re inundated with unsettling news about the effects of COVID-19. Links in this episode: * Kinetix (https://www.kinetix585.com/) * Nike Training Club (https://www.nike.com/ntc-app) * GMA Keep calm and wash your hands: 5 tips for managing stress around coronavirus (https://www.goodmorningamerica.com/wellness/story/keep-calm-wash-hands-tips-managing-stress-coronavirus-69482702) * Bon Appetit: Say You’re Stuck at Home for Two Weeks… (https://www.bonappetit.com/story/prepare-home-coronavirus) * Zen Habits: Dealing with the Immense Uncertainty of the World (https://zenhabits.net/immense-uncertainty/) * Information is Beautiful on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/p/B97D8Riho8M/) * No Kid Hungry (https://www.nokidhungry.org/)
With the precautionary measures in place to help prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus, many companies have instituted work from home policies. We wanted to take the time to talk through remote work tips and best practices. Links in this episode: * Bon Appetit: Better-than-Takeout Stir-Fried Udon (https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/stir-fried-udon-with-pork) * The Pioneer Woman: The Best Lasagna. Ever. (https://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/the_best_lasagn/) * NYTimes Cooking: Chicken and Rice Soup With Celery, Parsley and Lemon (https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1020898-chicken-and-rice-soup-with-celery-parsley-and-lemon) * World Health Organization: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public (https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public) * Episode 47: How To Set Boundaries Without Feeling Guilty (https://www.queenspeaking.com/47) * Magisto: 30 Work From Home Tips to Maximize Productivity and Help You Stay Connected (https://www.magisto.com/blog/2020/03/17/30-work-from-home-tips-to-maximize-productivity-and-help-you-stay-connected/) * Career Contessa (https://www.careercontessa.com/search.php?Srch=work+from+home) * The Skimm: Tips for Working From Home Effectively (https://www.theskimm.com/live-smarter/career/tips-for-working-from-home-effectively) * Girls’ Night In Club: Working From Home? Here's How to Take Care as You Do It (https://girlsnightinclub.com/posts/how-to-practice-self-care-when-working-from-home/)
We’re sharing our favorite beauty products from skincare to haircare, new finds and extra special additions. *Note: We recorded this ahead of the COVID-19 quarantine. Please enjoy some lighthearted content in the face of a tough time for us all. Stay tuned for episodes on work from home tips and how we're coping in these uncertain times coming soon! Links in this episode: * Episode 17: Skincare Basics (https://www.queenspeaking.com/17) * Episode 60: Nighttime Skincare Routine (https://www.queenspeaking.com/60) * Borghese Advanced Fango Active Purifying Mud Mask (https://www.borghese.com/collections/bestsellers/products/advanced-fango-active) * Sally Hansen Insta-Dri top coat (https://www.target.com/p/sally-hansen-nail-treatment-45117-insta-dri-anti-chip-top-coat-0-45-fl-oz/-/A-52476222) * Dermalogica Superfoliant (https://www.dermalogica.com/daily-superfoliant/229,default,pd.html) * Ouai Hair Oil (https://theouai.com/products/hair-oil) * Revlon One-Step Hair Dryer & Volumizer Hot Air Brush (https://www.amazon.com/Revlon-One-Step-Dryer-Volumizer-Brush/dp/B01LSUQSB0) * OLEHENRIKSEN Glow Cycle Retin-Alt Power Serum (https://www.sephora.com/product/glow-cycle-retin-alt-power-serum-P434545) * OLEHENRIKSEN C-Rush Vitamin C Gel Moisturizer (https://www.sephora.com/product/c-rush-tm-brightening-gel-cr-me-P430337)
We’re doing a Women’s History Month debrief, then introducing this month’s feature: Tracee Ellis Ross! Links in this episode: * Breanna and Dan’s wedding photo (https://www.instagram.com/p/B9NQTK_hpXM/) * Noom (https://www.noom.com/#/) * Women Inspiring #TeamQS Community Spotlight (https://www.queenspeaking.com/witqs) * Blackish on ABC (https://abc.com/shows/blackish)
Today’s episode is all about a fresh perspective on self care. We’re going to dig into what self care means for us and how you can find a routine for yourself. Links in this episode: * Episode 3: Defining Your Self Care Routine (https://www.queenspeaking.com/3)
We’re diving into the different ways we succeed and fail at communication, and how to be better communicators in the workplace and in personal relationships.
Today, we’re revisiting mentorship after reading a recent Quartzy newsletter. We’ve both experienced a fair amount of changes since 2018, so we thought it was time to look at what’s changed since that first conversation, and how we approach this still hard-to-identify challenge to find, be, and have a mentor. Links in this episode: * Vote Save America (https://votesaveamerica.com/) * Quartzy the newsletter (https://qz.com/re/quartzy-the-newsletter/)
In this month’s Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode, we’re giving a nod to one of our fave bloggers, Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen. She taught us cooking basics and makes adventurous, but approachable recipes — as she calls them “unfussy” — plus more on what we can learn from her. Links in this episode: * Bon Appetit: The Smitten Kitchen Is Back, and the Kitchen’s Still Tiny (https://www.bonappetit.com/story/smitten-kitchen-deb-perelman-interview) * The New York Times: Marcella Hazan (https://www.nytimes.com/topic/person/marcella-hazan) * Bon Appetit: This Garlic Bread Is the Secret to Converting Bean Haters (https://www.bonappetit.com/story/kid-friendly-beans-on-toast) * Smitten Kitchen Everyday (https://www.amazon.com/Smitten-Kitchen-Every-Day-Triumphant/dp/1101874813) * Smitten Kitchen blog (https://smittenkitchen.com/) * Smitten Kitchen on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/smittenkitchen/) * Smitten Kitchen: Chilaquiles brunch casserole (https://smittenkitchen.com/2018/05/chilaquiles-brunch-casserole/) * Smitten Kitchen: Pasta e ceci (quick pasta and chickpeas) (https://smittenkitchen.com/2017/10/quick-pasta-and-chickpeas-pasta-e-ceci/) * Smitten Kitchen: Charred cauliflower quesadillas (https://smittenkitchen.com/2015/02/charred-cauliflower-quesadillas/)
Adam Grant, an organizational psychologist and author, has talked about the value of creating a personal user manual to communicate your work style to your manager or your teammates. We loved this idea and wanted to dig into why it makes sense, what to include, and how to present it to your teammates. Links in this episode: * Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard: Adam Grant (episode 163) (https://armchairexpertpod.com/pods/adam-grant) * Harvard Business Review: To Achieve Big Goals, Start with Small Habits (https://hbr.org/2020/01/to-achieve-big-goals-start-with-small-habits) * Queen Speaking Personal User Manual Worksheet (https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ORmxQoPnPvW6wbKsBbHep8KcJNXqT1V0/view?usp=sharing)
We wanted to dig into exploring how to break the perfection streak and aim for what NYTimes Smarter Living has referred to as a “Mostly Fine Decision.” Let’s get comfortable with mini mistakes and failures, which surprisingly helps us to be more successful in the work we do. Links in this episode: * Ideas.TED.com: How you can use the power of celebration to make new habits stick (https://ideas.ted.com/how-you-can-use-the-power-of-celebration-to-make-new-habits-stick/) * NY Times Smarter Living: It’s Never Going to Be Perfect, So Just Get It Done (https://www.nytimes.com/2019/07/07/smarter-living/its-never-going-to-be-perfect-so-just-get-it-done.html)
This week’s episode is inspired by a Hidden Brain podcast episode, “Creatures Of Habit: How Habits Shape Who We Are — And Who We Become.” We share what stood out to us the most in the episode, how we’re making their tips actionable, and what we’re doing to build or break habits. Links in this episode: * Amazon: Good Habits, Bad Habits: The Science of Making Positive Changes That Stick by Wendy Wood (https://www.amazon.com/Good-Habits-Bad-Science-Positive/dp/1250159075/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1FYTINXKX38F2) * NPR’s Hidden Brain: Creatures Of Habit: How Habits Shape Who We Are — And Who We Become (https://www.npr.org/2019/12/11/787160734/creatures-of-habit-how-habits-shape-who-we-are-and-who-we-become) * Medium: Incrementalism and the Power of the Small Step (https://medium.com/the-post-grad-survival-guide/incrementalism-and-the-power-of-the-small-step-4c412402fe68)
Today, we’re getting into what makes us loyal to a brand, what we pay attention to, and the impact of marketing. We also shout out a few of our favorite brands, including some local love. Links in this episode: * Bob’s Red Mill (https://www.bobsredmill.com/) * Nisolo (https://nisolo.com/) * Patagonia (https://www.patagonia.com/home/) * Warby Parker (https://www.warbyparker.com/) * Cuyana (https://www.cuyana.com/) * Bon Appetit (https://www.bonappetit.com/) * Everlane (https://www.everlane.com/) * Ole Henricksen (https://www.sephora.com/search?keyword=OLEHENRIKSEN) * Nike Training Club (https://www.nike.com/us/en_us/c/nike-plus/training-app) * Crooked Media (https://crooked.com/) * Spotify (https://www.spotify.com/us/)
loading
Comments 
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store