DiscoverQueen Speaking
Queen Speaking
Claim Ownership

Queen Speaking

Author: Queen Speaking

Subscribed: 36Played: 345
Share

Description

A podcast for women as we navigate our personal and professional lives, sharing the inspiration that helps us along the way.
Together we’ll celebrate our triumphs and dig into our setbacks. We're giving voice to the experiences we live on a daily basis in search of continued self awareness. Let's find more ways to create opportunity for ourselves and advocate for our communities.
100 Episodes
Reverse
We’re talking about what it takes to fairly split roles and responsibilities in our households, how to communicate effectively and divide the work with your partner.Links in this episode:* Fair Play: A Game-Changing Solution for When You Have Too Much to Do (and More Life to Live) by Eve Rodsky (https://www.amazon.com/Fair-Play-Game-Changing-Solution-When/dp/0525541934)* The New York Times: How Same-Sex Couples Divide Chores, and What It Reveals About Modern Parenting (https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/16/upshot/same-sex-couples-divide-chores-much-more-evenly-until-they-become-parents.html) * Culture Amp’s People Geekly newsletter (https://hello.cultureamp.com/subscribe-to-the-people-geekly)
In this month’s Women Inspiring #TeamQS, we’re featuring Cecile Richards, former President of Planned Parenthood and co-founder of Supermajority. We dig into all she’s done with her career, and what we can learn from her about being informed and inclusive.Links in this episode:* Planned Parenthood (https://www.plannedparenthood.org/)* Supermajority (https://supermajority.com/)* The New York Times: A ‘Women’s New Deal’ (https://www.nytimes.com/2019/04/30/us/cecile-richards-supermajority.html)* Business Insider: Abortion rights, grassroots activism, and getting a woman elected president: Former Planned Parenthood president Cecile Richards re-enters the political fray (https://www.businessinsider.com/cecile-richards-planned-parenthood-abortion-rights-womens-activism-2019-4)
As we prepare for the holidays, we’re sharing our favorite holiday season hacks to make party attending and hosting so simple and stress free.Links in this episode:* Modern Love on Amazon Prime (https://www.amazon.com/Modern-Love-Season-1/dp/B07VNF5351)* Half Baked Harvest: French Onion Potato Soup (https://www.halfbakedharvest.com/french-onion-potato-soup/)* Fine Cooking: Classic Tomato Soup (https://www.finecooking.com/recipe/classic-tomato-soup)* Skinnytaste: Turkey Pumpkin White Bean Chili (https://www.skinnytaste.com/crockpot-turkey-white-bean-pumpkin/)
We’re talking about how small (or big) adjustments to our work environments can affect our productivity, the changes that make a difference, and how to ask for what you need. Links in this episode:* Succession on HBO (https://www.hbo.com/succession)* The Morning Show on Apple+ (https://tv.apple.com/us/show/the-morning-show/umc.cmc.25tn3v8ku4b39tr6ccgb8nl6m)
As women we have the tendency to over apologize. In this episode, we get into how to replace “I’m sorry” and only use it when necessary to be stronger communicators.Links in this episode:* The Cut: How Do I Make Plans Without ‘Getting a Drink’? (https://www.thecut.com/2019/11/11-ways-to-make-friends-without-drinking-alcohol.html)* Career Contessa: How to Stop Apologizing at Work (+ What to Say Instead) (https://www.careercontessa.com/advice/stop-apologizing/)* Just Not Sorry — the Gmail Plug-in (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/just-not-sorry-the-gmail/fmegmibednnlgojepmidhlhpjbppmlci)
This episode is inspired by Man Repeller’s article on Bon Appétit’s test kitchen YouTube channel and Claire Saffitz’s success. Our conversation dives into what it means to be authentic, the value of authentic content on social media, removing fear, and connecting with people.Links in this episode:* Roc Girl Gang on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/rocgirlgang/)* Hypebooth on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/hypebooth/)* Sir Rocha Says on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/sirrochasays/)* Plann Instagram Scheduling Tool (https://www.plannthat.com/)* Man Repeller: How Bon Appétit Became a YouTube Sensation—and Why Claire Saffitz Is the Perfect Star (https://www.manrepeller.com/2019/10/how-bon-appetit-became-a-youtube-sensation-and-why-claire-saffitz-is-the-perfect-star.html)
In this month’s Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode, we’re spotlighting Ellen Bennett. She’s the woman behind Hedley & Bennett, an apron and kitchen apparel company that started in 2012. We’re digging into why quality matters, owning your mistakes, and her persistence.Links in this episode:* Buzzfeed: 16 People Who Are Just Having A Real Hard Time With The English Language Right Now (https://www.buzzfeed.com/daves4/struggle-with-words) * Ellen Bennett on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/ellenmariebennett/)* Second Life Podcast: Ellen Bennett: Hedley & Bennett Founder and CEO (https://www.secondlifepod.com/episodes/ellen-bennett-rebroadcast)* Career Contessa: Ellen Bennett, Hedley & Bennett (https://www.careercontessa.com/interviews/hedley-and-bennett-ellen/)* Fast Company: How 29-Year-Old Ellen Bennett Became The Culinary World’s Apron Queen (https://www.fastcompany.com/40405178/how-29-year-old-ellen-bennett-became-the-culinary-worlds-apron-queen)
We’re talking about the differences between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation, and how we move between both depending on what we’re doing and where we are in our lives. Plus, tips to stay motivated and get re-motivated.Links in this episode:* Fortune’s raceAhead e-newsletter (https://cloud.newsletters.fortune.com/fortune/nloptin?utm_source=email&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=raceahead&utm_content=2019101119pm&nl=RACEAHEAD)* Nick Wignall: 10 Psychological Tricks to Stay Motivated and Stick with Your Goals (https://nickwignall.com/stay-motivated/?ck_subscriber_id=458776291)* Career Contessa: 13 Ways to Motivate Yourself at Work (https://www.careercontessa.com/advice/how-to-motivate-yourself/)
We’re talking about the different ways we use public speaking skills beyond the stage. Our skills can help us on phone and video calls, in one-on-one conversations, and when leading team or client meetings.Links in this episode:* Episode 40: Preparing for a presentation (https://www.queenspeaking.com/40)* Ethos3: 5 Shocking Public Speaking Statistics (https://www.ethos3.com/2018/03/5-shocking-public-speaking-statistics/)* Ideas.TED.com: Tap into the power to persuade by using these 6 techniques of clear and compelling speech (https://ideas.ted.com/tap-into-the-power-to-persuade-by-using-these-6-techniques-of-clear-and-compelling-speech/)
We often talk about the anxiety we feel in different situations, and it’s always been helpful to know that we’re not alone in these feelings. In this episode, we’re exploring how we can talk about our anxiety and ask for support, while being aware of the boundaries that need to exist with the people we love and what that conversation might look like in the workplace too.Links in this episode:* Nylon: It’s OK to Set Boundaries with Your Anxious Friends (https://nylon.com/setting-boundaries-with-anxious-friends)
We’re excited to be talking about chef and TV co-host, Carla Hall in this month’s WITQS. Many know her as a contestant on season five of Bravo’s Top Chef where she warmed the hearts of the show’s fans. We’re talking about her vivacious spirit and what we can learn from her about embracing change.Links in this episode:* Milk Street Radio: Carla Hall Reclaims Soul Food (https://www.177milkstreet.com/radio/carla-hall-bong-appetit-soul-food)* Forbes: Chef Carla Hall's Guide To Embracing Your Authenticity (https://www.forbes.com/sites/michelinemaynard/2019/04/21/chef-carla-halls-guide-to-being-authentic/#66064dd17379)
We’re recapping a workshop we attended through Junior League of Rochester with Emilie Aries on assertive communication, how it differs from aggressive communication, and why it matters for women to communicate our intent.Links in this episode:* Junior League of Rochester (http://www.jlroch.org/)* Emilie Aries (https://www.emiliearies.com/)* YouTube: The Power of No (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epAlxzmYyAE)* Bossed Up: A Grown Woman's Guide to Getting Your Sh-t Together by Emilie Aries (https://www.amazon.com/Bossed-Up-Womans-Getting-Together/dp/1541724208)
Not all days off are created equal. Sometimes we need to take a PTO day to do nothing or tackle chores and appointments—a day off for no reason! We’re talking about how we all should make time off a priority for ourselves even if we’re not going on a full blown vacation and how to ask your boss for it.Links in this episode:* NYTimes: Smarter Living newsletter (https://www.nytimes.com/newsletters/smarter-living)* Girls Night in Club: Everything You Need to Know to Take a Staycation ASAHP (As Soon As Humanly Possible) (https://girlsnightinclub.com/posts/everything-you-need-to-know-about-taking-an-effective-staycation/)* NYTimes: What to Do With a Day Off (https://www.nytimes.com/2019/09/02/smarter-living/what-to-do-with-a-day-off.html)
Simon Sinek has flipped the idea of passion on its head—it isn't something we find, it's something we experience. With that in mind, we want to dig into how we perceive passion in our lives and work and the impact that has on us.Links in this episode:* 23andMe (https://www.23andme.com/)* Simon Sinek on passion (https://www.facebook.com/166356006498/posts/10157533878481499?s=628167493&v=e&sfns=mo)
This month’s Women Inspiring #TeamQS, we’re talking about Janet Mock—a trans woman of color who is an author, writer, director, producer, advocate, and shining light in the world. We dig into identity, allyship, and the strength of community.Links in this episode:* Mochithings: Planners (https://shop.mochithings.com/stationery/planners)* It's Okay to Laugh: (Crying Is Cool Too) by Nora McInerny Purmort (https://www.amazon.com/Its-Okay-Laugh-Crying-Cool/dp/0062419382)* No Happy Endings: A Memoir by Nora McInerny (https://www.amazon.com/No-Happy-Endings-Nora-McInerny/dp/0062792407)* FX: Pose (https://www.fxnetworks.com/shows/pose)* NPR: On 'Pose,' Janet Mock Tells The Stories She Craved As A Young Trans Person (https://www.npr.org/2019/08/14/750931179/on-pose-janet-mock-tells-the-stories-she-craved-as-a-young-trans-person)
This week, we’re channeling Gwendoline Christie who nominated herself for an Emmy and got it. We’re getting into why it’s confidence vs. narcissism when we self-nominate. From picking your moment to acknowledging your greatness, and asking what we can do to support ourselves or encourage the women around us to self-nominate. Think bigger and be bold!Links in this episode:* #FairFight2020 (https://fairfight.com/about-fair-fight/)* Hulu: Fosse/Verdon (https://www.hulu.com/series/fosseverdon-151fed30-9719-4620-ac13-3aadbfc5be43)* Vogue: Gwendoline Christie Nominated Herself for an Emmy After HBO Didn’t—And Then Got It (https://www.vogue.com/article/gwendoline-christie-nominated-herself-emmy-awards-game-of-thrones)
When did Sunday become such a stressful day? We’re talking about how to do more with you Sunday (hint: spend less time on chores) by mentally preparing for the week ahead and finding ways to restructure our day to enjoy both weekend days to the fullest. Sunday Scaries be gone!Links in this episode:* The Everygirl: 6 Easy Things to Do on Sunday That Will Improve Your Week (http://theeverygirl.com/6-things-to-do-on-sunday-that-will-make-your-week-easier)
This episode is inspired by The Crane Wife, an essay from The Paris Review. We’re talking about needs — why they matter, defining them for ourselves, and how to communicate them, even when it’s hard. Links in this episode:* FiveThirtyEight Podcasts (https://fivethirtyeight.com/tag/fivethirtyeight-podcasts/)* KCRW's Left, Right & Center (https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444881/k-c-r-w-s-left-right-center)* Pinch of Yum: Thai Chicken Salad (https://pinchofyum.com/chopped-thai-chicken-salad)* Bon Appetit: Ramen Noodles with Miso Pesto (https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/miso-pesto-with-ramen-noodles)* The Paris Review: The Crane Wife (https://www.theparisreview.org/blog/2019/07/16/the-crane-wife/)
Sometimes vacation is the break we need and other times all we want is a breather from the day-to-day. We’re talking about how taking a step back from it all can help us realign with what matters most. Let’s clear our plates so we can fill them back up with things that make us most happy.Links in this episode:* Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng (https://www.amazon.com/Little-Fires-Everywhere-Celeste-Ng/dp/0735224293)* Psychology Today: Find a Therapist (https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapists)
In our latest Women Inspiring #TeamQS episode, we’re gushing about Reese Witherspoon—Big Little Lies, her media company, Hello Sunshine, the value of friendship, and why having a support system can help you conquer new and challenging work that makes a lasting impact.Links in this episode:* Knix: Thigh Saver Short (https://knix.com/products/thigh-saver-short) * Man Repeller: 14 People on How They Actually Made New Friends as an Adult (https://www.manrepeller.com/2019/06/advice-adult-friendship.html)* Inc.com: Even Brené Brown Gets Nervous at Public Speaking Engagements. Here Are Her 3 Tricks for Calming Nerves (https://www.inc.com/melanie-curtin/even-brene-brown-gets-nervous-at-public-speaking-engagements-here-are-her-3-tricks-for-calming-nerves.html)* InStyle: Reese Witherspoon on How to Get What You Want (https://www.instyle.com/celebrity/reese-witherspoon-june-cover)* Forbes: 5 Things I Learned From Reese Witherspoon's Company Hello Sunshine (https://www.forbes.com/sites/marybethferrante/2018/11/29/5-things-i-learned-from-reese-witherspoons-company-hello-sunshine/#63f15ed9760b)* Cinema Blend: The 10 Best Reese Witherspoon Movies, Ranked (https://www.cinemablend.com/news/2474662/the-10-best-reese-witherspoon-movies-ranked)* @ReeseWitherspoon on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/reesewitherspoon/?hl=en)
loading
Comments 
loading
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store