Discover
The GolfRules Questions Podcast

The GolfRules Questions Podcast
Author: David Blake with Co-hosts Ross Flannigan and Stuart McPhee
Subscribed: 28Played: 1,138Subscribe
Share
© 380301
Description
Golf Rules because GolfRules
Have you ever had a question about a golf rule? Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf.
Well, then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you.
Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-hosts Stuart & Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.
Have you ever had a question about a golf rule? Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf.
Well, then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you.
Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-hosts Stuart & Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.
146 Episodes
Reverse
GUEST: Marcela Smith shares her journey to becoming a golf rules official and stories from two U.S. Open Qualifiers. She teaches fun, experiential rules clinics through Girlfriends Guide to Golf and volunteer officiates with the Southern California Golf Association.Joining the SCGA to help conduct some tournaments - THE GRQ PODCAST EP140GRQOTW140: A player has a caddie, and fires them after four holes. The caddie then continues to watch the player play, and then on the 7th hole, the player hits a ball into long grass, the ex-caddie goes to search for it and is there for 45 seconds before the player arrives to search. The ball is found 2mins and 45secs later. Is this ball still the ball in play?GRQOTW139: The player moves a loose impediment that the ball is sitting on. They then realised the ball is sitting on the loose impediment, so they replace the loose impediment exactly as it was so that the ball is in the same position. Is the ball considered to have move and therefore the player gets a one stroke penalty?GOLF.AIhttps://www.instagram.com/golf.ai_/https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions https://www.tiktok.com/@golf.ai_Whatsapp: +1 (415) 517-0843Free-call: AUS - +61 2 5023 1831UK - +44 1302 490357USA - +1 706 770 4406
GUEST: Jason R. Smith, co-author of A Guide to Being a Rules Official, joins Blakey for his second guest appearance, and they go through some gnarly Rules of Golf situations - THE GRQ PODCAST EP139Jason brings his own ClubLand Stories to the podcast presented by GOLF.AI, and tries to catch Blakey out with a ball moved, or has it not moved, that is the question.
GUEST: Elisa Hermes, an update about recent US OPEN qualifying tournaments and Rules worshops that Elisa has been running, we also discuss golf as an outdoor spot - THE GRQ PODCAST EP138GRQ137 - David hits his tee shot to the right of the fairway and it comes to rest inside a wombat hole that is on the side of a cliff face. The ball is not visible from the ground, but it was known to have gone into the hole, and the hole is very visible from the ground and it is easy to see that it is a wombat hole. David can't walk up the cliff face to get to the ball nor the hole, so he says to Andrew that he will take free relief, and use the nearest spot to the hole that he can reach as his reference point and drop a ball within a club-length of that spot. Andrew is not sure about that, and doesn't even think David could actually play a shot at the ball, as he can't climb the cliff face. Andrew calls in a referee, and that is you, what is your ruling?Answer: The stroke would have been clearly unreasonable for David, so there is no free relief. He would have to take stroke-and-distance and he cannot locate the exact spot of the ball.GRQOTW138A player' s ball has come to rest on the fringe. There is some dirt in front of his ball that looks to have stuck together and fallen off the bottom of another player's shoe. Is the player allowed to remove that dirt that is on his line of play?DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
CLUBLAND STORIES May: Wrong Balls, Intervening Event for a Deliberate Stop, Moving a Loose Impediment in a Bunker, Dropping a Ball with No Intention for it to be in Play - THE GRQ PODCAST EP137Blakey is back, by himself this time, hopefully the audio is a lot better. There are some fun ClubLand stories this time, and of course the GRQOTW's and we serve up an easy question for Golf.Ai.GRQOTW 136 Blakey and Stuart are playing each other in a match at Wombat Hills. As Stuart is preparing to make his 2nd stroke in the general area on the 3rd hole, his ball moves backwards slightly. Before Stuart can remove his club, the ball comes to rest against the club, which stops it moving. Blakey is standing close by watching and both players agree that neither Stuart or any outside influence caused the ball to move. Just to be sure of what to do next, Blakey calls in a referee. What is the ruling?Answer: The movement of the ball was caused by natural forces, so no penalty. The stopping of the ball was accidental, so no penalty.The player is to remove their club, and if the ball moves in that case, there is no penalty and the ball needs to be replaced.GRQOTW 137GRQ137 - David hits his tee shot to the right of the fairway and it comes to rest inside a wombat hole that is on the side of a cliff face. The ball is not visible from the ground, but it was known to have gone into the hole, and the hole is very visible from the ground and it is easy to see that it is a wombat hole. David can't walk up the cliff face to get to the ball nor the hole, so he says to Andrew that he will take free relief, and use the nearest spot to the hole that he can reach as his reference point and drop a ball within a club-length of that spot. Andrew is not sure about that, and doesn't even think David could actually play a shot at the ball, as he can't climb the cliff face. Andrew calls in a referee, and that is you, what is your ruling?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @GOLF.AI_OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#golfrules #GOLF.AI #blakey
Community QuestionsStuart and Blakey did a catch up on the most recent Community Questions - these can be found on YouTube, where you can guestimate the answer, and see if you got it right. Some of the questions included searching for a ball in sand, order of play, changing the characteristics of the club, pitch mark off the green, and more.GRQOTW 136 - Blakey and Stuart are playing each other in a match at Wombat Hills. As Stuart is preparing to make his 2nd stroke in the general area on the 3rd hole, his ball moves backwards slightly. Before Stuart can remove his club, the ball comes to rest against the club, which stops it moving. Blakey is standing close by watching and both players agree that neither Stuart or any outside influence caused the ball to move. Just to be sure of what to do next, Blakey calls in a referee. What is the ruling?GRQOTW135: A player's ball, played from the putting green, is deflected into the hole by another player's caddie, who accidentally walked across the line of play. The original ball, or another ball, must be replaced on its orginal spot and the stroke must be replayed.TRUEThe ball has been accidentally deflected on the putting green by another person, so the stroke is cancelled and must be replayed. Rule 11.1GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#golfrules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
CLUBLAND STORIES March: Mixed Gender Match Play, a gate on the course boundary, determining the reference point, accidentally substituting golf balls, and marking a ball - THE GRQ PODCAST EP135We are back with Episode 135 of the GolfRules Questions Podcast, and this week it is our favourite episode of the month, Clubland Stories. DK has a hypothetical question about a mixed gender match, whilst pedanticus is a little too penaltycus over a pitch mark. Then we have the nerd and bill tell us about some more golf shop stuff ups. We also have another audio question sent in by Dear John, and this time he gives us the answer, just in case.So whether you are cooking rice, or melting gold, please enjoy this episode of the golfrules questions podcast.GRQOTW 134: In stroke play, a marker enters the scores in the wrong boxes on the scorecard, can they correct it after they have returned the scorecard, or is it too late? It is too late. Whilst the hole numbers could be changed prior to the scorecard being returned, it is too late if this is not done before the scorecard has been returned.If a marker signs in the player’s spot, and the player signs in the marker’s spot, and the scorecard is returned, is that also too late to correct it, or does it even need to be corrected?It does not even need to be corrected. As long as their are two signatures on the scorecard, it will be accepted.GRQOTW135: A player's ball, played from the putting green, is deflected into the hole by another player's caddie, who accidentally walked across the line of play. The original ball, or another ball, must be replaced on its orginal spot and the stroke must be replayed.GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#golfrules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
GUEST: Golf.Ai - Want to settle a rules debate? Ask Golf.ai! Choose a suggestion, or ask your own Rules question. This week we have Clive Mayhew from Golf.Ai on the podcast - THE GRQ PODCAST EP134The special guest on this week’s episode of the GolfRules Questions podcast is Clive Mayhew from Golf.Ai, who has set out on a journey to help raise the Golf Rules IQ of everyone on the planet through the use of AI. The powerful engines of the worlds best computer chips makes getting Rules access a lot quicker and easier, and the best way to prove your mates wrong. So whether you’re hacking into your friends computer, or slapping ham between two pieces of bread, here’s this week’s episode of the GolfRules Questions podcast.GRQOTW133: Late on a Friday afternoon at Wombat Hills GC, Blakey and Stuart are playing a match, and remarkably, Stuart is able to win the 18th hole to tie the match. Given the quickly fading daylight, both players agree to stop play and resume their match on Sunday morning at 8am. Two days later and just prior to starting their 19th hole of the match, Blakey tells Stuart that he had 39 points in the stableford competition played on the Wombat Hills course the day before. Knowing that an extended match is a continuation of the same round, not a new round, Stuart now knows that Blakey has practiced on the course during the match. He requests a ruling from the Committee before teeing off.Blakey is allowed to practice on the course before the match resumes on Sunday. Rule 5.5c specifically allows practice on the course when a match is stopped by agreement and will not resume on the same day, without restriction before the match is resumed. Therefore, there is no penalty.GRQOTW134: In stroke play, a marker enters the scores in the wrong boxes on the scorecard, can they correct it after they have returned the scorecard, or is it too late? If a marker signs in the player’s spot, and the player signs in the marker’s spot, and the scorecard is returned, is that also too late to correct it, or does it even need to be corrected?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
Episode 133Clubland StoriesCan a player go back and play a provisional ball, and how long does it take to jog back to the tee and then find the original ball?Ball in red penalty area, and feet standing on green.Ball at rest in bunker is moved by a ball in motion whilst player is in their downswing.Specific Rules in an AmbroseOne stroke penalty relief outside a bunkerAdjusting clubs without making a strokeIntervening events - breaching a Rule during a stroke.Is there any free relief from the spray of a sprinkler?Ball deflected off a duckHole made by the maintenance staff, and the material that is out of the hole being piled for removalJohn Thurman - Larry’s ball is struck by artificially propelled water on the putting green. Losing your ball-marker, and what is reasonable judgement for replacing ball.GRQOTW 132: Blakey and Stuart are all square in their match at Wombat Hills GC, after 12 holes. As the light is fading and as they walk off the 12th green, Blakey says to Stuart, "how about we agree to halve the 13th, 14th and 15th holes and we just walk over and play the final 3 holes starting on the 16th?” Stuart agrees and they walk to the 16th tee. Blakey tees off on 16 when a roving referee drives up and investigates further. What is the Referee's ruling, if anything?Referee shouldn’t get involved. But if one of the players says something to the Committee, then it will depend if the players knew what they were doing was a breach or not.GRQOTW133: Late on a Friday afternoon at Wombat Hills GC, Blakey and Stuart are playing a match, and remarkably, Stuart is able to win the 18th hole to tie the match. Given the quickly fading daylight, both players agree to stop play and resume their match on Sunday morning at 8am. Two days later and just prior to starting their 19th hole of the match, Blakey tells Stuart that he had 39 points in the stableford competition played on the Wombat Hills course the day before. Knowing that an extended match is a continuation of the same round, not a new round, Stuart now knows that Blakey has practiced on the course during the match. He requests a ruling from the Committee before teeing off.GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadsh... (https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=product_shelf) DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_q... OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH #GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
ON TOUR: Where in the world are Blakey and Stuart? We have stories from Cobram-Barooga, New Delhi, Barwon Heads, Riyadh, St Andrews, and Adelaide, with a few Rulings thrown in - THE GRQ PODCAST EP132Welcome back to the GolfRules Questions podcast, this is Episode 132, where Stuart and Blakey discuss where they have been in the world, including Cobram-Barooga, New Delhi, Barwon Heads, Riyadh, St Andrews, and Adelaide, with a little bit of Rules thrown in.So whether you are hiding in the garage, or speeding down the motorway on a push bike, please enjoy this episode of the GolfRules Questions Podcast.GRQOTW131In Foursome stroke play with side A-B, A, whose turn it is to play, plays a ball from outside the teeing area. B makes the next stroke from within the teeing area. What is the penalty and which player makes the next stroke?Side A-B is penalised four strokes. To correct the error, A must play the next stroke from the teeing area.GRQOTW 132Blakey and Stuart are all square in their match at Wombat Hills GC, after 12 holes. As the light is fading and as they walk off the 12th green, Blakey says to Stuart, "how about we agree to halve the 13th, 14th and 15th holes and we just walk over and play the final 3 holes starting on the 16th?” Stuart agrees and they walk to the 16th tee. Blakey tees off on 16 when a roving referee drives up and investigates further. What is the Referee's ruling, if anything?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadsh... (https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=product_shelf) DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_q... OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH #GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
GUEST: Jason R. Smith - co-author of the extremely informative 'A Guide to Being a Golf Rules Official' joins us to provide info on how to become the best Golf Rules Official - THE GRQ PODCAST EP131Welcome to Episode 131 of the GolfRules Questions Podcast. This week we have guest Jason R Smith, a long time golf referee in Texas and co-author of the book A Guide to Being a Golf Referee. We get into how he started in golf, and what led him into the exciting world of the Rules of Golf. Then we delve into the wonderful book he and his co-author Woody have put together that covers everything not in the Rules of Golf that you need to know if you are wanting to become a referee. You can get a copy of the book here:https://www.amazon.com.au/Guide-Being-Golf-Rules-Official-ebook/dp/B0C3MVTDX3GRQOTW130 A:The player made a six, as the original ball was a wrong ball and the dropped ball was the ball in play. So all the shots with the original ball including dropping another ball thinking they were doing the right thing, didn’t count and they just got the general penalty. They were lucky not to be DQ’d just because they were too lazy to drop another ball.GRQOTW131In Foursome stroke play with side A-B, A, whose turn it is to play, plays a ball from outside the teeing area. B makes the next stroke from within the teeing area. What is the penalty and which player makes the next stroke?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadsh...DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_q...)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY / golfrulesquestions LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules#GolfRulesQuestions#blakey
ClubLand Stories December, and what an absolute doozy to finish out the year 2024. Podcast and Blakey finally disagree on a Rules situation, so let us know who you think is right. We have nearly ten outstanding ClubLand stories/Rules questions, including two audio questions, one of which is the GRQOTW for episode 130 and it is a head-scratcher. GRQOTW129:Andy the Average Golfer incurs a General Penalty for all of the breaches.GRQOTW130Player hits her ball on a par 3 and it is Known or Virtually Certain to be in a Yellow Penalty Area.The player decides to correctly drop a ball back-on-the-line for a penalty of one stroke.The player then sees her original ball and decides to go and play that ball.She hits her original ball sideways and it rolls back into the same Yellow Penalty Area at a new entry point.The player goes back on the tee side of the Yellow Penalty Area and drops a ball back-on-the-line. She then hits this ball into the greenside bunker.Then she hits her bunker shot across the green and back into the penalty area at the same crossing point as the original ball from the teeing area.She goes to drop a ball under penalty of one stroke back-on-the-line but as her first dropped ball is in the same position she decides to play this instead.Hits that on the green and takes one putt to finish.What is her score? GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
In episode 129, Stuart chats with experienced Referee and rules expert John Thorman who is the author of the Rules Book, "Let's Get it Right". John talks about his start in the game, what sparked his interest in the Rules of Golf and his Rules journey. John mentions some of his tips about being a good Referee.Finally, John presents his own GRQOTW.The book 'Let's Get it Right' is available for free at https://issuu.com/dear_john/docs/dear_john_-_book_20162021?fr=sNDFkOTE5ODc3MTgGRQOTW128:David has nothing to answer for. He has the ability to change his mind if the removal of the tree meant his ball didn't move. When choosing to take an unplayble, the player has the ability to get to their ball, and if in the process the ball is moved, there is no penalty.GRQOTW129:Andy the Average Golfer is playing at Wombat Hills GC after an overnight rain.His ball lies on wet compacted sand in a bunker on the first hole. Thinking “lift, rake and place” is an option under the circumstances, Andy lifts his ball, rakes the area fluffing the sand, replaces the ball on the original spot, and plays his ball successfully from the bunker. How many penalty strokes, if any, does Andy incur?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
Episode 128 of the GolfRules Questions Podcast was all about Podcast and Blakey being on tour. Podcast had some stories from the Australian Open, held at Kingston Heath, where there was a lot of talk about pace of play, and soft course conditions, whilst Blakey was over in Qatar with the Asian Tour, where the main rulings were what is considered abnormal in the desert.So whether you are eating an ice cream or taking the dog for a walk, enjoy listening to the golfrules questions podcastON TOUR - Blakey was in Qatar, and Stuart was in Melbourne. Sand aplenty in Doha, and plenty of rain in Melbourne, but just because it’s rough, doesn’t mean it’s abnormal - THE GRQ PODCAST EP128GRQOTW 127 A - Jeff may require Stuart to lift Stuart’s ball if Jeff reasonably believes it might interfere with Jeff’s play.GRQPTW128 - David finds his tee shot in a terrible lie, with a large unattached tree branch right beside his ball. He says that he is going to take an unplayable, but then moves the tree branch and this causes his ball to move. Stuart didn’t like this procedure and wants David to add two penalty strokes to his score, one for causing his ball to move, and one for the unplayable. David is adamant that he was just moving the branch to get to his ball. But Stuart believes that had David moved the unattached tree branch and David’s ball had not moved, he would have played it as it lies. They call you in to decide, what is your decision? GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
2024 Ford NSW Open - Stuart's Impeccable Reverse Cart Driving Skills, When a Rut Becomes a Rabbit Hole, The Club Pro Handing Out More Than Just Lessons, and much more - THE GRQ PODCAST EP127GolfRules Questions Podcast Episode 127 was all about the 2024 Ford New South Wales Open.Podcast was there on the ground to assist the tournament get finished without a hitch, but that wasn’t too be, it was a drama filled event, with Podcast and friend of the show ARobb right in the thick of it.So whether you are out on the links, or slaving away at the driving range, enjoy listening to the GolfRules Questions podcast.GRQOTW126:Smooting the bunker that is on the line of play of a ball that is now out of the bunker is permitted as per Rule 12.2b(3).GRQOTW127:Which is correct regarding Jeff and Stuart in a situation where a ball is interfering with or helping play in the general area?•Jeff may require Stuart to lift Stuart's ball if Jeff reasonably believes it might interfere with Jeff's play.•Jeff may lift Jeff's ball if Jeff reasonably believes it might interfere with the play of Stuart.•Jeff may require Stuart's ball to be lifted if Jeff reasonably believes it might help the play of another player.GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
CLUBLAND STORIES November: Slope function on the range finder results, when the search time starts, when your own ball is a wrong a ball, and we double-down on what is a stroke- THE GRQ PODCAST EP126This is Episode 126 of the golfrules questions podcast. In this episode stuart and blakey are back together to do a quick wrap up of their time on tour, and then we delve into some brain-teasing clubland stories, including what a stroke is, the slope function on a range finder, when the search time starts, and when your own ball becomes a wrong ball.GRQOTW125:False, you are allowed to restore a gallery stake and rope that a spectator removed without your authority, in order to restore worsened conditions.GRQOTW126:Andy the Average Golfer is playing an individual stroke play event at Wombat Hills. On the 3rd hole, Andy decides to take unplayable ball relief from a bunker, using the back-on-the-line option outside of the greenside bunker. After dropping the ball on the line correctly in the general area, Andy the Average Golfer returns to the bunker and smooths out his own footprints in the bunker on his line of play. How many penalty strokes does Andy the Average Golfer incur?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
The GolfRules Questions podcast, episode 125 had a special guest this week, with Elisa Hermes from the Maryland State Golf Association having a chat to Blakey about running tournaments, holding rules workshops, and the different mindset for Rules that you need for each. Elisa was also singing the praises of the wonderful volunteer referees, and just volunteers in general that make the tournaments come alive. It was fantastic to speak with Elisa, and we hope you enjoy episode 125.GRQOTW124:True, the ball-marker may be moved by the player.GRQOTW125:True/FalseA spectator removed a movable gallery-control rope without the player's authority that worsened the conditions affecting the stroke. The player may not reinstall the rope. GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
Clubland Stories is back with the October edition as Episode 124 of the GolfRules Questions podcast. DK has two questions, including assisting another player in his group with a two ball situation. David is wondering why his friend Tom was disqualified for continuing play after a normal suspension, Brian asks about MLR B-3, and the no-penalty myth makes its way to Waimate. Thank you to all our contributors for submitting clubland stories.GRQOTW123 AnswerMarvin was allowed to make a stroke at the moving ball, but taking three minutes to make that decision as the ball crept closer to the hole would be an unreasonable delay to play.GRQOTW124 QuestionT/FIf a ball-marker might help or interfere with play, a player may move the ball-marker out of the way if it is their own ball-marker.GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
Episode 123 of the GolfRules Questions podcast is all about the first stage Asian Tour Q School held last week at Mt Derrimut Golf Club where Stuart and Blakey were both a part of the Rules Committee. From setting up the course, to rabbit holes, and stone walls deemed integral objects. It was an adventurous week, as was the recording of this episode, during a long car ride home, you can actually hear Blakey pause to multi-task as he checked the rearview mirror. So please enjoy the audio-only episode, then like and subscribe, but more importantly, get in those clubland stories so we can bring them to life.GRQOTW122 AnswerAs Andrea's provisional ball never became the ball in play, there was no penalty for accidentally causing it to move. Andrea was not allowed to declare her original ball lost, that is why it stayed as the ball in play when found within the three minute search time.GRQOTW123 QuestionMarvin hit his ball into a creek and then waited 3 minutes while the stream took his ball closer to the hole. Andy the Average Golfer wasn't very happy about this and so called in a referee to help them with the situation.GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
CLUBLAND STORIES September: Matt Fitz damaged driver, Advice given in the Creator Classic playoff, Sahith's bunker issue, Call 'Fore' if a ball is hurtling towards someone - THE GRQ PODCAST EP122GRQOTW121 Answer:Andy is lying five after hitting his ball that was Out Of Bounds. He has to go back to where he played his second shot from.GRQOTW122 Question:In a stroke play competition, Andrea hits her tee shot into a heavily-wooded area. She properly plays a provisional ball under Rule 18.3b and it comes to rest in the fairway. She searches for her original ball for one minute and declares it 'lost'. She walks over to her provisional ball and accidentally kicks it. She replaces it, but before she plays it and within 3 minutes of her starting searching, a spectator finds her original ball. She lifts the provisional ball and plays the original ball to the green. She takes two putts and tees off on the next hole. What is her score for the hole?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey
Episode 121 of the GolfRules Questions podcast is back to the OG of Rules Questions - ClubLand StoriesToday’s episode features a greensomes question about using the partner’s club, whether strokes are given in a match play playoff, what is the area underneath a bridge, hitting a ball into the hole with your hand, and playing from a No Play Zone, we also have the GRQOTW for 121 that you can try wrap your head around.GRQOTW120:Eight strokes. Andy the Average Golfer played a ball that was dropped under free relief (which wasn't available to him) and as he did not have intention to drop that ball as an unplayable (even though that is where he arrived at after finding out the free relief wasn't available), he has played from a wrong place. He was required to drop a ball with the intention for it to be an unplayable, not just play one that was dropped previously by him and in the correct relief area.GRQOTW121: Andy the Average Golfer is playing a stroke round at Wombat Hills. On the 9th hole, he hits his 2nd shot way left towards the driving range. Among all of the other golf balls, he finds his ball and plays his 3rd stroke towards the green. After 1 chip and 3 putts, he holes out. As he is waiting at the back of the 9th green, waiting for others to finish the hole, a staff member walks down and advises Andy that the driving range is OOB. Andy asks the staff member what that means. Neither know, so they approach you as a member of the Committee for assistance. What is Andy the Average Golfer's score for the 9th hole?GOLFRULES QUESTIONS MERCHANDISEGet yourself a Roo&Coo polo: https://golfrulesquestions.myspreadshop.com/.DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION:Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.comWANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE?Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.comWANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCEHead to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITYhttps://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestionsLISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFYClick here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questionsSUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #blakey