Claim Ownership

Author:

Subscribed: 0Played: 0
Share

Description

 Episodes
Reverse
Bourne Again

Bourne Again

2022-05-1743:04

In their first ever bonus episode, Ciara and Dean continue discussing the Bourne Trilogy because, frankly, there's a lot to say about the Bourne Trilogy. Whenever the Bourne Trilogy isn't on screen, people should be asking: where's the Bourne Trilogy? They talk about mass surveillance, MKUltra and how much Paul Greengrass loves handheld cameras. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Ciara on how films portray the Bush administration in Current Affairs: https://www.currentaffairs.org/2020/11/hollywood-the-bush-years-and-americas-memory-hole Episode 15, The Bourne Identity: https://thesundae.net/2022/05/01/the-bourne-identity-the-sundae-presents-episode-15/ Ciara and Dean talking about another conspiracy thriller on another podcast: https://soundcloud.com/the250/theconversation-podcast-fin?utm_source=clipboard&utm_campaign=wtshare&utm_medium=widget&utm_content=https%253A%252F%252Fsoundcloud.com%252Fthe250%252Ftheconversation-podcast-fin
The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity

2022-05-0150:13

In a rare role-reversal, Dean shows Ciara a popular mainstream film she has bizarrely never seen: The Bourne Identity, starring Matt Damon. They talk about its difficult production, how evil the CIA is, and The Long Kiss Goodnight. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog 24 Reasons The Bourne Identity & The Long Kiss Goodnight Are The Same Movie by Couch T: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RA_FQjt8oNI Episode 5, Good Will Hunting: https://thesundae.net/2021/08/02/good-will-hunting-the-sundae-presents-episode-5/ Ciara and Dean talking about another conspiracy thriller on another podcast: https://soundcloud.com/the250/theconversation-podcast-fin?utm_source=clipboard&utm_campaign=wtshare&utm_medium=widget&utm_content=https%253A%252F%252Fsoundcloud.com%252Fthe250%252Ftheconversation-podcast-fin
Ciara hits Dean with another classic horror double bill as he watches James Whale's Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein. They talk about the censorship of the first film, the queer themes of the second and ask: who's the real monster anyway? (It's Dr. Frankenstein.) Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Ciara on Happy Death Day in Fangoria: https://www.fangoria.com/original/christopher-landon-reinventing-slasher/  My First Vulnerability is the Last Thing You'll See: https://thesundae.net/2021/06/13/my-first-vulnerability-is-the-last-thing-youll-see/ You Kill That Man, You Die Next: https://thesundae.net/2019/08/19/you-kill-that-man-you-die-next/
Fists in the Pocket

Fists in the Pocket

2022-02-2047:48

It's a return to normalcy as Dean once again makes Ciara watch some film you've never heard of that he watched on a whim: Marco Bellocchio's 1965 film debut Fists in the Pocket. They talk about its complex portrayal of disability, ambiguously amoral characters and mad incest vibes. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Notes on Hamlet (2000): https://thesundae.net/2018/05/13/notes-on-hamlet-2000/ God Sent Me To Piss The World Off, Part 1: https://thesundae.net/2020/04/12/god-sent-me-to-piss-the-world-off-part-1/ I Was Cured, All Right: https://thesundae.net/2020/07/06/i-was-cured-all-right/ Do I Look Like the Kind of Clown Who Could Start a Movement?: https://thesundae.net/2020/10/05/do-i-look-like-the-kind-of-clown-that-could-start-a-movement/
Ciara and Dean each brought a film this episode, but also... the same film? For our first (proper) double episode, Ciara made Dean watch the Whedon Cut of Justice League, and Dean made Ciara watch the Snyder Cut. They talk about corporate heartlessness, the inherent silliness of superheroes and Batman getting old. They also laugh at the bad guy a lot. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Five Years in Hell: a Reflection on the Superhero TV Boom: https://thesundae.net/2017/06/25/five-years-in-hell-a-reflection-on-the-superhero-tv-boom/ Crisis on Infinite Shows: https://thesundae.net/2020/06/08/crisis-on-infinite-shows/ Ghostbusters (2016): a Hillary Clinton Story: https://thesundae.net/2017/05/07/ghostbusters-2016-a-hillary-clinton-story/ Martin Scorsese on Marvel movies: https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/04/opinion/martin-scorsese-marvel.html
It's a Wonderful Life

It's a Wonderful Life

2021-12-2358:45

For our first Christmas Spectacular, Ciara helps Dean rid himself of one of his most grievous shames: never having seen It's a Wonderful Life. They talk about its view of capitalism, the brilliance of its final act and whether there's even such a thing as corny. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Bosley Crowther's review of It's a Wonderful Life: https://www.nytimes.com/1946/12/23/archives/the-screen-in-review-at-three-theatres-its-a-wonderful-life-with.html Too Pop for the Punk Kids: https://thesundae.net/2021/11/28/too-pop-for-the-punk-kids/ The last time we did a film where someone pretends to commit suicide by jumping off a bridge into a river to trick Jimmy Stewart into jumping in after them: https://anchor.fm/the-sundae/episodes/Vertigo-e11rmt6
Ikiru

Ikiru

2021-12-1951:46

In a shocking twist, Dean shows Ciara a film widely acknowledged as one of the greatest of all time: Akira Kurosawa's Ikiru. They talk about its humour and humanism, Kurosawa's influences and how the main character's son is a complete piece of shit. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog “Akira Kurosawa - Composing Movement” by Every Frame a Painting: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doaQC-S8de8 Bosley Crowther’s review of Ikiru: https://www.nytimes.com/1960/01/30/archives/screen-drama-imported-from-japanikiru-has-premiere-at-the-little.html Ciara’s article on Michael Collins in Paste: https://www.pastemagazine.com/movies/michael-collins-liam-neeson-anniversary/ The Rashomon Effect Effect: https://thesundae.net/2018/05/20/the-rashomon-effect-effect/
Welcome to Me

Welcome to Me

2021-11-2141:28

Dean shows Ciara a film released after they met instead of before they were born: the 2014 Kristen Wiig vehicle Welcome to Me. They talk about the positive thinking movement, Wiig’s career arc and why Oprah sucks. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Barbara Ehrenreich on positive thinking: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvwyhSeLZT8 Oprah’s long history with junk science: https://www.vox.com/science-and-health/2018/1/9/16868216/oprah-winfrey-pseudoscience Matthew McConaughey’s Oscar speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wD2cVhC-63I Ben Affleck’s The Town: https://twitter.com/danclyne/status/941548911277289473
For our first Halloween Spooktacular, Ciara shows Dean a Sam Raimi double bill: The Evil Dead and Evil Dead II. They talk about the genius of Bruce Campbell, innovation born from ignorance, and all the different kinds of goo. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog "Why Would You Need To Guard A Dead Man Stuck In A Two-Foot Refrigerator?" by Ciara in Bright Wall/Dark Room: https://www.brightwalldarkroom.com/2018/08/15/weekend-at-bernies-2/ You Should Watch Vic Reeves Big Night Out: https://thesundae.net/2019/09/01/you-should-watch-vic-reeves-big-night-out/
Dog Day Afternoon

Dog Day Afternoon

2021-09-2647:23

Ciara makes Dean watch one of her actual favourite films, Dog Day Afternoon. They talk about sexuality and gender, optimism and the Attica prison massacre. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog "The Boys in the Bank" by P. F. Kluge and Thomas Moore: https://books.google.ie/books?id=5VYEAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA66 Radical Empathy and the Prison-Industrial Complex: https://thesundae.net/2018/11/05/radical-empathy-and-the-prison-industrial-complex/
Way Down East

Way Down East

2021-08-2948:15

Dean shows Ciara D.W. Griffith’s 1920 silent melodrama Way Down East. They talk about its weird Christian feminism, silent film acting and sleepy kitties. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog “The Grace of Keanu Reeves” by Angelica Jade Bastién: https://www.brightwalldarkroom.com/2016/04/21/the-grace-of-keanu-reeves/ You Should Watch Charlie Chaplin: https://thesundae.net/2017/08/13/you-should-watch-charlie-chaplin/ Way Down East on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhdUHLloHmg
Good Will Hunting

Good Will Hunting

2021-08-0143:17

Ciara makes Dean watch Good Will Hunting for the first time. They talk about class, toilet humour, and whether Ben Affleck is a good actor.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Cancelled Too Soon: Mindhunter: https://thesundae.net/2021/07/26/cancelled-too-soon-mindhunter/ My First Vulnerability is the Last Thing You’ll See: https://thesundae.net/2021/06/13/my-first-vulnerability-is-the-last-thing-youll-see/ Ben Affleck and Matt Damon Win Original Screenplay (feat. Jack Lemmon wildin' out): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8RIS5GJqAg Ben Affleck getting unmatched on a dating app: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFdNADcemJk
Speed Racer

Speed Racer

2021-07-0445:45

Dean shows Ciara his favourite film released in his lifetime: the Wachowski Sisters’ 2008 children’s action blockbuster Speed Racer. They talk about digital effects, sensory overload and whether blockbusters can be anti-capitalist. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog “In Defense of Disco” by Richard Dyer: http://history-is-made-at-night.blogspot.com/2008/05/in-defence-of-disco-richard-dyer.html In Speed Racer’s fossil-fuel-free future, speed is freedom: https://www.polygon.com/movies/22446139/speed-racer-movie-cars-fossil-fuel-commentary An entire episode of Lazy Town: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHyzxdmQhDc Chapo Trap House's Avatar episode: https://open.spotify.com/episode/2SrCbSFVeVdGoFiaDRkW5k?si=8DCtQONCTIqG-jZyjjfH9Q&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1 Speed Racer Is Not an Art Film: https://thesundae.net/2017/07/31/speed-racer-is-not-an-art-film/
Vertigo

Vertigo

2021-05-3041:46

Ciara makes Dean watch only his third Alfred Hitchcock film, the 1958 classic Vertigo. They talk about cops, pretty colours, and Dean's aversion to films made between 1934 and 1967.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog The Hays Code: http://www.screenonline.org.uk/film/id/592022/ A bunch of dolly zooms, including Vertigo and Jaws: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OO3pqJVLAc Socially Awkward Penguin: https://knowyourmeme.com/memes/socially-awkward-penguin James F. Maxfield and Vertigo as An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge: https://www.salon.com/2018/09/08/is-vertigo-just-the-fever-dream-of-a-dying-man/
Wings of Desire

Wings of Desire

2021-05-0241:27

Dean makes Ciara watch the Wim Wenders movie Wings of Desire for the first time. They talk about war, peace, and Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Wim Wenders interview: https://youtu.be/N_jaBDec_3I Sundae Film Awards 2021: https://thesundae.net/2021/04/25/the-sundae-film-awards-2021/
In the inaugural episode of The Sundae Presents, Ciara makes Dean watch the Steven Spielberg classic E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial for the first time. They talk about drunken empathy, Jesus parallels, and penis breath.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Spielberg talking about the special edition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uV8Ffi-3Qg Is Stranger Things a personal tribute to Hitler? https://thesundae.net/2017/05/28/what-we-talk-about-when-we-talk-about-nostalgia/
Comments 
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store