DiscoverArtist/Materialist
Artist/Materialist
Claim Ownership

Artist/Materialist

Author: Susanna King

Subscribed: 4Played: 40
Share

Description

Susanna is a graphic designer. Dan is a materials scientist. Each week, we discuss a long read about science or culture from our unique points of view. Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
38 Episodes
Reverse
We discuss the article "How Tinder Changed Dating for a Generation" by Ashley Fetters in The Atlantic. In this episode: The history of dating apps and online datingWhat's made some apps succeed and others failFear Of a Better Option (FOBO)Why it's harder to meet people in person nowadaysHow dating can actually be hard work--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Hopepunk, explained: the storytelling trend that weaponizes optimism" by Aja Romano in Vox. --- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "How Driscoll's Reinvented the Strawberry" by Dana Goodyear in the New Yorker: https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/08/21/how-driscolls-reinvented-the-strawberry/amp--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Have Smartphones Destroyed a Generation?" by Jean M. Twenge in The Atlantic. --- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "A Kingdom from Dust" by Mark Arax in the California Sunday Magazine (https://story.californiasunday.com/resnick-a-kingdom-from-dust).--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We've returned from our break with a slight format change. Check our blog at artistmaterialist.com to see which article we'll be discussing next week.--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Inside the booming business of background music" by Jake Hulyer in The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/news/2018/nov/06/inside-the-booming-business-of-background-music--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Everything You Wear Is Athleisure" by Derek Thompson in The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2018/10/bicycle-bloomers-yoga-pants-how-sports-shaped-modern-fashion/574081/--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Can You Curate a Town?" by Jennifer Miller in the New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/11/03/style/mountain-dale-new-york.html--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
We discuss the article "Why We Can't Quit the QWERTY Keyboard" by Rachel Metz for MIT Technology Review: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/611620/why-we-cant-quit-the-qwerty-keyboard/--- Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/artistmaterialist/support
loading
Comments 
loading
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store