DiscoverAvocodo
Avocodo
Claim Ownership

Avocodo

Author: Team Avocodo

Subscribed: 0Played: 1
Share

Description

Hi, we're Paul & Kristoff. This podcast contains the ramblings & musings between ourselves — two millennials. Expect topics such as Linux, mountain biking, photography, beer, & the discourse among two friends.

Paul
https://keybase.io/pinjasaur
https://unsplash.com/@pinjasaur

Kristoff
https://keybase.io/kwak
https://unsplash.com/@kwakr
14 Episodes
Reverse
TGIF y'all. ✌ Editor’s note: this podcast was recorded on Jan 20, 2021. In this episode Paul virtually sits down with Mitch—a never-before-heard special guest—and discusses coffee, programming, blogs + note taking, self-hosting, and finances. A quality alternative title would have been “Cache, money, flow.” Coffee: City Girl: https://www.citygirlcoffee.com/ Contrast Coffee: https://contrastcoffee.com/ Brewers: Clever dripper: https://cleverbrewing.coffee/products/clever-dripper?variant=1500178317357 Programming: Golang: https://golang.org/ Crystal: https://crystal-lang.org/ Rust: https://www.rust-lang.org/ Gleam: https://gleam.run/ Inko: https://inko-lang.org/ Static file hosting: Surge: https://surge.sh/ Netlify: https://www.netlify.com/ Caddy: https://caddyserver.com/ Blog & notes: Simple.css: https://github.com/kevquirk/simple.css Joplin: https://joplinapp.org/ Backup: Relica: https://relicabackup.com/ Kopia: https://kopia.io/ Financials: Privacy.com: https://privacy.com/join/48ZM7 PayPal Key: https://www.paypal.com/us/smarthelp/article/what-is-paypal-key-and-where-can-i-use-it-faq4240 Misc: Morning Brew: https://www.morningbrew.com/daily/r?kid=fdaee8c7
In this episode Paul & Kristoff catch up after moving. Privacy.com link: https://privacy.com/join/WZ79L Cat tax: https://img.haus/cZWXiFq
In yet another special-guest episode featuring Parker—another long-time listener—music, food, and the vast mysteries of the Internet are discussed. BLED FEST: https://www.bledfest.com/ illuminati hotties: https://illuminatihotties.bandcamp.com/ The End Of The Ocean: http://theendoftheocean.com/ Hawthorne Heights: https://hawthorneheights.com/ Slingshot Dakota: http://slingshotdakotamusic.com/ 802.11: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11
In this special episode featuring Gary—potentially our longest running listener—gogurt, Game of Thrones, agile/scrum, and the artist Bonobo is discussed. Editor's note: Paul's throat was not cooperating during this recording so he sounds a bit worse than normal.
In this episode Paul & Kristoff discuss electricity memes, automating Google Drive, and potential DNS pitfalls when using GitHub Pages. Mozilla’s response: https://hacks.mozilla.org/2019/05/technical-details-on-the-recent-firefox-add-on-outage/ HN: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=19871989 Link for the router: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B079SD8NVQ/ Signal Electricity memes: https://i.imgur.com/1GNNhXd.jpg https://i.imgur.com/rZ36caS.png Google Drive Automation: https://paul.af/scripting-google-drive Emmet (html:5): https://emmet.io/
In this episode Paul & Kristoff follow-up on the Pi-hole install and the status of Paul’s GPU computer woes (hint: no bueno). Fidget spinners, side projects, and a shoutout to Paul’s favorite Northern Michigan brewery are discussed before diving into the meat of the episode: the baby steps to getting your own little slice of the Internet. B. Nektar Punk Lemonade: http://www.bnektar.com/brews/punk-lemonade/ Short’s Barney Blood: https://www.shortsbrewing.com/beers/barney-blood/ Router: https://smile.amazon.com/MikroTik-RBD52G-5HacD2HnD-TC-Dual-Concurrent-802-11a-Ethernet/dp/B079SD8NVQ/ Spinetic Spinners: https://spinetic-spinners.com/ The “bow-tie”: https://spinetic-spinners.com/product/kepler-dapper-spinner/ Paul’s ACME client software: https://uly.io/ar Paul’s Medium RSS -> JSON software: https://meed.js.org/ Beards Brewery: http://www.beardsbrewery.com/ Paul’s Framed Minnesota LTD: https://paul.af/framed-minnesota-ltd Kristoff’s N=1: https://www.framedbikes.com/collections/bikes/products/alaskan-carbon-fat-bike-26?variant=17295828811827 Trek Roscoe 8: https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/mountain-bikes/trail-mountain-bikes/roscoe/roscoe-8/p/23608/ Rocky Mountain Growler 50: https://www.bikes.com/en/bikes/growler/2019 Gandi: https://www.gandi.net/en Namecheap: https://www.namecheap.com/ GitHub Pages: https://pages.github.com/ Nearly Free Speech: https://www.nearlyfreespeech.net/ DigitalOcean: https://www.digitalocean.com/
In this episode Kristoff & Paul follow-up on Signal safety numbers (“fingerprints”) & give a loyal fan a shoutout. Topics include clock drift, computer woes in the form of dying GPUs, network-wide ad-blocking with a Pi-hole, and managing your CLI workflow with tmux. Signal Safety Number: https://signal.org/blog/safety-number-updates/ More FAQ: https://support.signal.org/hc/en-us/articles/360007060632 It’s Dead (Chocolate Chip Cookies): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9t6h89R9b4 URL Audio Visualizer: https://twitter.com/jake_albaugh/status/1118611365508337665 JavaScript Snippet: https://twitter.com/mathias/status/1118854141189685249 Paul’s tmux slide deck: https://uly.io/talk/tmux Pi-hole blog post (with screenshots): https://paul.af/adding-pi-hole-to-my-local-network
 In this short episode returning from our hiatus we discuss ASMR, follow-up on some comments regarding LastPass in our previous episode, and talk about cryptography in the apps Keybase, Signal, and WhatsApp. Keybase HN “TOFU” post: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=19502657
#5: Browser Extensions

#5: Browser Extensions

2018-12-1701:17:06

In this episode we catch up after a very short hiatus and discuss browser extensions on our long anticipated episode. Massdrop Mini Mic: https://www.massdrop.com/buy/massdrop-mini-mic?mode=guest_open Paul’s Local Hack Day Unsplash photo: https://unsplash.com/photos/oZMUrWFHOB4 xkcd Password Strength: https://www.xkcd.com/936/ Shared Extensions: LastPass https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/lastpass-free-password-ma/hdokiejnpimakedhajhdlcegeplioahd uBlock Origin https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ublock-origin/cjpalhdlnbpafiamejdnhcphjbkeiagm Privacy Badger https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/privacy-badger/pkehgijcmpdhfbdbbnkijodmdjhbjlgp HTTPS Everywhere https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/https-everywhere/gcbommkclmclpchllfjekcdonpmejbdp RES https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/reddit-enhancement-suite/kbmfpngjjgdllneeigpgjifpgocmfgmb Paul: Tabby Cat https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/tabby-cat/mefhakmgclhhfbdadeojlkbllmecialg CodePen Enhancement Suite https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/codepen-enhancement-suite/olmbnbpkgkagfnkdmaehjcpdkfkfokim hckr news https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/hckr-news/mnlaodleonmmfkdhfofamacceeikgecp JSON Viewer https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/json-viewer/gbmdgpbipfallnflgajpaliibnhdgobh OctoLinker https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/octolinker/jlmafbaeoofdegohdhinkhilhclaklkp Octotree https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/octotree/bkhaagjahfmjljalopjnoealnfndnagc Refined GitHub https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/refined-github/hlepfoohegkhhmjieoechaddaejaokhf Personal Blocklist https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/personal-blocklist-by-goo/nolijncfnkgaikbjbdaogikpmpbdcdef Quick Javascript Switcher https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/quick-javascript-switcher/geddoclleiomckbhadiaipdggiiccfje Stylus https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/stylus/clngdbkpkpeebahjckkjfobafhncgmne Kristoff: Momentum https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/momentum/laookkfknpbbblfpciffpaejjkokdgca A Fine Start https://afinestart.me/ HerpDerp for Youtube https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/herp-derp-for-youtube/ioomnmgjblnnolpdgdhebainmfbipjoh Netflix Party https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/netflix-party/oocalimimngaihdkbihfgmpkcpnmlaoa Chris Coyier article: https://mediatemple.net/blog/tips/browser-extensions-actually-use/ Honorable Mentions: Cloud To Butt Plus https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/cloud-to-butt-plus/apmlngnhgbnjpajelfkmabhkfapgnoai?hl=en Enhanced Steam (is at End of Life) https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/enhanced-steam/okadibdjfemgnhjiembecghcbfknbfhg The Camelizer (camelcamelcamel) https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/the-camelizer/ghnomdcacenbmilgjigehppbamfndblo
In this episode we discuss audio podcasting, audiophile equipment, Anchor.fm, Unsplash, productive music, & Thanksgiving plans. Podcast Bingo: https://twitter.com/alexlaughs/status/1059488784906096642 Massdrop Minimic: https://www.massdrop.com/buy/massdrop-mini-mic?mode=guest_open AKG K7XX: https://www.massdrop.com/buy/akg-k7xx-massdrop-first-edition-headphones?mode=guest_open Schiit Fulla: http://www.schiit.com/products/fulla-1 V-MODA BoomPro: https://smile.amazon.com/V-MODA-BoomPro-Microphone-Gaming-Communication/dp/B00BJ17WKK?sa-no-redirect=1 Anchor Article: https://medium.com/@NirZicherman/why-you-should-never-pay-for-podcast-hosting-9c39becd7cf7 Anchor + Unsplash: https://medium.com/unsplash/anchor-unsplash-dd0e3cb75dcf Paul’s Unsplash: https://unsplash.com/@pinjasaur Kristoff’s Unsplash: https://unsplash.com/@kwakr Productive Playlist: https://open.spotify.com/user/pinjasaur/playlist/3Nlvw0uW81o16oc67KYw9Z?si=3Gab1_T4Q0mKdwTuvNpbpQ
In this episode we discuss our coffee snobbiness, UI themes, and Vim keybindings with a sprinkling of death and cynicism. OpenGL: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenGL Keweenaw Coffee Works: https://www.keweenawcoffeeworks.com/collections/roasts/products/copy-of-326-5th-street?variant=12684133728341 Aeropress: https://www.aeropress.com/product/aeropress/ Lenovo T440: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lenovo-ThinkPad-T440s-14-Intel-i5-8GB-RAM-256GB-SSD-Win-10-WiFi-B-Grade-Laptop/283247936718?hash=item41f2e484ce:g:XHkAAOSwESNZ8LQs:rk:2:pf:0#viTabs_0 Dark theme article: https://stuffandnonsense.co.uk/blog/redesigning-your-product-and-website-for-dark-mode UX Dark theme focus article: https://ux.stackexchange.com/questions/53264/dark-or-white-color-theme-is-better-for-the-eyes#53268 Paul’s Blog: https://paul.af/ Why HJKL: http://www.catonmat.net/blog/why-vim-uses-hjkl-as-arrow-keys/
#2: Mint Problems & Biking

#2: Mint Problems & Biking

2018-11-1001:08:20

In this episode we talk about Kristoff’s Linux issues so far, fixes, and some secure messaging platforms. Over the past weekend we biked, enjoyed some beer, and ate some stellar food in Marquette and discuss that for the latter half of the episode. USB Sound Card: http://a.co/d/blXTnSo ATH M50x: https://www.audio-technica.com/cms/headphones/99aff89488ddd6b1/index.html Gus & Eddy Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9q4FW3t7AasK7o49C-Mq6w PEAP: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Protected_Extensible_Authentication_Protocol Messaging: Signal: https://signal.org/ Signal Desktop: https://github.com/signalapp/Signal-Desktop WhatsApp: https://www.whatsapp.com/ Telegram: https://telegram.org/ Signal vs. WhatsApp & Telegram: https://medium.freecodecamp.org/why-i-asked-my-friends-to-stop-using-whatsapp-and-telegram-e93346b3c1f0 CDMA: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Code-division_multiple_access GSM: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GSM Marquette: Marquette South Trails Route: https://www.trailforks.com/ridelog/planner/view/46132/ BKXC’s video: https://youtu.be/gGLXvrXDa8A Paul’s MTB: https://unsplash.com/photos/el4_1M0dTok Kristoff’s MTB: https://unsplash.com/photos/xySWUgF9yD4 Ore Dock: https://ore-dock.com/ Blackrocks: https://www.blackrocksbrewery.com/ Blackrocks Store: https://www.blackrocksbrewery.com/the-swag-store/ Cafe Bodega: https://www.cafebodegamqt.com/ Contrast Coffee Co: http://contrastcoffeeco.com/
#1: Setup Pt. 2

#1: Setup Pt. 2

2018-11-0642:05

In this episode we finish Kristoff's Linux Mint workstation setup & discuss the various aspects of configuring a new machine. Key points include SSH keys, browser choice, text editor/IDE, and dotfiles. Kristoff https://keybase.io/kwak https://unsplash.com/@kwakr Paul https://keybase.io/pinjasaur https://unsplash.com/@pinjasaur SSH Setup/Config: https://gist.github.com/Pinjasaur/9144654a871d657b2a323b89e891b1f1 Paul's Public Keys (hosted on Keybase): https://pinjasaur.keybase.pub/ssh_public_keys.txt IDE/Text Editor Sublime Text: https://www.sublimetext.com/ Atom: https://atom.io/ VS Code: https://code.visualstudio.com/ Emmet: https://emmet.io/ Links: DuckDuckGo: https://duckduckgo.com/ WhenIsGucci: https://github.com/Pinjasaur/whenisgucci Paul's dotfiles: https://github.com/Pinjasaur/dotfiles
#0: Hello, World

#0: Hello, World

2018-10-2828:30

This is the first (0-indexed, of course) episode of Avocodo. We're Kristoff & Paul, two college students who enjoy chatting about things. In this episode, we make brief introductions and ramble on while Kristoff goes through the process of installing Linux Mint. Kristoff https://keybase.io/kwak https://unsplash.com/@kwakr Paul https://keybase.io/pinjasaur https://unsplash.com/@pinjasaur Links: Elementary OS: https://elementary.io/ Unsplash: https://unsplash.com/
Comments 
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store