Claim Ownership

Author:

Subscribed: 0Played: 0
Share

Description

 Episodes
Reverse
Hidden Voices Trailer

Hidden Voices Trailer

2019-10-0902:43

Get excited about the upcoming season of Hidden Voices, the upcoming podcast which travels the state of Georgia, uncovering the stories of people with developmental disabilities.
1.1 I Am Olmstead

1.1 I Am Olmstead

2019-10-3027:35

Hidden Voices takes a deep dive into the definition, history, and context of developmental disabilities in Georgia and the Supreme Court cases that set the precedence for how we treat people today. Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
Hidden Voices explores the tools people with developmental disabilities use to live more independent lives, from speech technology to service animals. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Kyleigh Kramlich: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/kyleigh-kramlich Jake Ricks: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/jake-ricks John McCarty: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/john-mccarty Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
Hidden Voices explores the network of Parent Mentors across the state of Georgia and the extraordinary advocacy efforts of people when developmental disabilities are a part of your life. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Yvette Pegues: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/yvette-pegues Joseph Grillo: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/joseph-grillo Matthew Ladd: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/matthew-ladd Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
Hidden Voices explores one of the most interesting times in the life cycle of people with a developmental disabilities - trying to decide what happens when they graduate from high school. We learn about an exciting program called IPSE, Inclusive Post-Secondary Education. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. The Fam Squad: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/the-fam-squad Katy Ann Killingsworth: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/katy-ann-killingsworth Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
Hidden Voices explores the complicated worlds of housing and transportation for people with developmental disabilities in Georgia. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Evan Dewey: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/evan-dewey Parker Glick: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/parker-glick Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
1.6 Employment First

1.6 Employment First

2019-12-0430:31

Hidden Voices explores employment options for people with disabilities and the Employment First movement. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Nanditha Isaac: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/nandi-isaac Chad Roberts: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/chad-roberts Tira harper: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/tira-harper Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
1.7 Where We Are Now

1.7 Where We Are Now

2019-12-1129:56

Hidden Voices wraps up Season 1 with a 360 review of where we're at in the state of Georgia in how we treat people with developmental disabilities. The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below. Callie Moore: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/callie-moore Michael Griggs: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/michael-griggs Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org
Season 2 Trailer

Season 2 Trailer

2021-08-2003:06

Coming August 31st, Hidden Voices follows Season 2 host, Raisa Habersham, as she explores the experiences of belonging and isolation through the lives and words of people with developmental disabilities. Joined by co-host Derona King, Executive Director of Citizen Advocacy of Atlanta and Dekalb, this season of Hidden Voices illuminates the often hidden realities of being a disabled person living in a world that was made for able bodied people.
Starting The Journey

Starting The Journey

2021-08-3135:11

Hidden Voices introduces Season 2 host, Raisa Habersham, to the world as experienced by people with developmental disabilities, in their words. Joined by co-host Derona King, Executive Director of Citizen Advocacy of Atlanta and Dekalb, this episode explores the relationship between mentor and mentee and what advocacy for and with people with developmental disabilities can mean and look like.
A Lot About Love

A Lot About Love

2021-09-1424:15

In this episode, host Raisa Habersham continues her journey to grow her understanding of the lives of Georgians with a developmental disability through their outlooks on love and relationships.
Following her exploration of what support looks like for people with disabilities through love and relationships, Raisa turns her focus to the external systems in place that are meant to provide support, but often create further stigma and isolation for the people who most need them.
Following Faith

Following Faith

2021-10-1239:40

Raisa explores the experience of belonging and faith through faith communities from the perspective of two people with disabilities. She learns about the relationships they developed within their faith communities and how the structure or beliefs of the community lead them to feel welcomed vs times they have been further isolated.
This Is Not My Home

This Is Not My Home

2021-10-2631:37

In this episode, Raisa meets Nick Papadapoulos, a man who has been trapped in a nursing home facility for four years due to the collapse of red tape obstacles. Raisa listens to the story of what landed him in this situation and how he continues to find his purpose through his advocacy work.
Stronger Together

Stronger Together

2021-11-0939:12

In the Season 2 finale of Hidden Voices, Raisa ends her journey by getting to the core of the relationships between Citizen Advocates and their partners- mutual respect and empathy. Raisa sees firsthand how people are changed as they see the inequity of life unfold for people with disabilities and how they can never turn their back on that reality once it's faced. Raisa finds herself changed by her journey, as well, and is committed more than ever before to uplift the voices of disabled people in a world that wasn't built for them to be heard.
Comments 
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store