DiscoverThe Blockchain and Us: Conversations about the brave new world of blockchains, cryptoassets, and the token economyWhy the Blockchain Space Needs Better Access - Alexis Gauba, she(256), Mechanism Labs
Why the Blockchain Space Needs Better Access - Alexis Gauba, she(256), Mechanism Labs

Why the Blockchain Space Needs Better Access - Alexis Gauba, she(256), Mechanism Labs

Update: 2019-02-201
Share

Description

Alexis Gauba speaks about co-founding she(256), mentoring and teaching blockchain literacy, starting points for people with an interest in blockchain technology, how students can make the best of the available programs in blockchain education, teaching coding to underrepresented minorities, her current research questions at Mechanism Labs, the importance of usability in blockchains, how to design interdisciplinary research projects, and much more.


Alexis is a Co-Founder of she256, a nonprofit dedicated to increasing diversity and breaking down barriers to entry in the blockchain space. She is studying Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at UC Berkeley and has been actively involved in the blockchain space as Co-Founder of Mechanism Labs, conducting research on distributed consensus and usability.


Alexis Gauba: http://www.alexisgauba.com, https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexisgauba, https://github.com/alexisgauba, https://medium.com/@AlexisGauba, https://www.twitter.com/AlexisGauba


she(256): http://www.she256.io, https://www.twitter.com/SHE_256


Mechanism Labs: https://www.mechanismlabs.io, https://www.github.com/Mechanism-Labs, https://www.medium.com/mechanism-labs, https://www.twitter.com/mechanism_labs


Blockchain at Berkeley: https://www.blockchain.berkeley.edu, https://www.twitter.com/CalBlockchain


Blockchain at Berkeley YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5sgoRfoSp3jeX4DEqKLwKg/videos


Also mentioned in the episode:


Preethi Kasireddy: https://www.theblockchainandus.com/preethi-kasireddy, https://www.medium.com/@preethikasireddy


Aparna Krishnan: https://www.theblockchainandus.com/aparna-krishnan


Blockchain Fundamentals Berkeley EdX course: https://www.edx.org/professional-certificate/uc-berkeleyx-blockchain-fundamentals


Zubin Koticha's Medium channel: https://medium.com/@zubinkoticha


Princeton Textbook "Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies": http://www.bitcoinbook.cs.princeton.edu


Andreas Antonopoulos’ book “Mastering Bitcoin”: www.goodreads.com/book/show/21820378-mastering-bitcoin


Andreas Antonopoulos’ and Gavin Wood’s book “Mastering Ethereum”: www.goodreads.com/book/show/33584554-mastering-ethereum


MIT Bitcoin Expo: https://www.mitbitcoinexpo.org 


Crypto Economics Security Conference: https://www.cesc.io


Many thanks to our advertisers who support this podcast!


21 Lectures' mission is to bring more developers to the Bitcoin ecosystem with in-person courses. Lectured by world-renowned Bitcoin and Lightning developers, courses teach participants the fundamentals to work with blockchain technologies. To learn more visit www.21lectures.com.


CoreLedger is a blockchain-based peer-to-peer transaction infrastructure provider. It enables businesses to document, tokenize and trade any type of assets in a reliable and flexible environment. CoreLedger makes anything transactable, literally anything. To learn more about CoreLedger’s technology and how you can transform your business onto blockchain, visit www.coreledger.net.


The Blockchain and Us newsletter


To stay up to date about what blockchain pioneers, innovators and entrepreneurs from all around the world think about the future of this space, sign up for the newsletter at www.theblockchainandus.com

Comments 
loading
In Channel
Download from Google Play
Download from App Store
00:00
00:00
1.0x

0.5x

0.8x

1.0x

1.25x

1.5x

2.0x

3.0x

Why the Blockchain Space Needs Better Access - Alexis Gauba, she(256), Mechanism Labs

Why the Blockchain Space Needs Better Access - Alexis Gauba, she(256), Mechanism Labs

Manuel Stagars