DiscoverBlack ImaginationThe Trust Black Women Tour: Malkia Stampley
The Trust Black Women Tour: Malkia Stampley

The Trust Black Women Tour: Malkia Stampley

Update: 2020-09-16
Share

Description

This week on Black Imagination, Antoine and Kennita share their space with Malkia Stampley – mom and wife; TV, film and stage actor; voice over artist; and stage director from Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

(2:00 ) Malkia talks about her childhood and the pipeline for artists of color in Milwaukee (8:30 ), her experience going through college being one of the few theater students of color (11:10 ), representation of black roles in MKE and her experience working around the country (13:10 ), the life of Chadwick Boseman (19:10 ), her return back to MKE and how difficult it sometimes is to work here (28:30 ), The MKE Black Theater Festival (37:10 ), her health and wellness philosophies (42:53 ), how to create a new energy around the arts in the city (48:20 ), and her favorite MKE-based artists (56:30 ).

This is the first episode on a set of episodes called the "Trust Black Women Tour." Subscribe to not miss any of the upcoming pods!

Some of Malkia’s Favorite Artists

Ammar Nsoroma @ammarnsoroma

Adjua Nsoroma El @ansoroma

Kwabena Nixon @iamikan 

Muhibb Dyer @muhibbdyer

Dasha Kelly @dasha_kelly

DiMonte Henning @Monte_dh

Kevin Seivert - @kevkev7878

Della Wells @dellaartwells

Teju the Storyteller

Zakiya Courtney - Vegan chef - @zakiyacourtney

Intro/Outro music: “Song of Freedom” by Shonn Hinton https://soundcloud.com/shonnhinton/song-of-freedom

Comments 
00:00
00:00
x

0.5x

0.8x

1.0x

1.25x

1.5x

2.0x

3.0x

Sleep Timer

Off

End of Episode

5 Minutes

10 Minutes

15 Minutes

30 Minutes

45 Minutes

60 Minutes

120 Minutes

The Trust Black Women Tour: Malkia Stampley

The Trust Black Women Tour: Malkia Stampley

Imagine MKE